Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elmwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 547 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2012

My kids have attended Elmwood Elem for 2 yrs so far. Pre K was wonderful, K was ok, but I am hoping for an improvement this year. My main concern is the building and maintence of the school which I believe could be greatly improved. We'll see how it goes this year, but I am pretty happy with the teachers so far so I guess it could be worse. I think kids deserve to learn in up-to-date buiildings that are kept clean throughout the day, but I grew up going to PA schools that were always kept up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Fullerton elementary school is only less than a mile from Elmwood, yet its rating is 5 compared to former which is 10. Principals of other schools whose ratings are bad [1-6], should consult M/s Biscoe, Susan, about how they can improve their respective school ratings. Take tips, follow the reaching methodology, how they motivate kids, make them work hard, what is their incentive for kids to perform better???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

the teachers , staff and PTA are wonderful... They are always there for our kids and have good commnication with the parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I have three children currently attending this school. It has been warm and caring with wonderful teachers. I give great credit to the teachers for their patience, support, fairness and attention they display towards their students. My kids have been challenged and pushed to do their best consistently. The PTA does an amazing job of fundraising and activities for the children. This school is a community where kindness and respect are upheld to the fullest. The same can be said for the curriculum. It has been a wonderful place for my children to spend their days and I am pleased that they are able to be part of the same school I attended when I was their age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My child attends Elmwood , Unfortunately I think the school needs serious restructuring for the teachers. Remember the focus should always be placed on the 'students'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My son has been going to elmwood since pre-k and now a 1st grader. My son receives a high quality of education. This school is the best. The staff and the students are great. Theres no foul language through the halls and teachers and staff are polite and helpfull. I have no complaints I am happy to say that my son is getting an outstanding education at elmwood. However its unfortunate that I have recently moved out of the zone area and now I am forced to remove my son and enroll him in our new zone school Walter P. Carter. But I will try my hardest to fight that decision because I only want whats best for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

What difference does it make if there are Black staff members? I am Black and I am only concerned with the quality of education my child will recieve from his teacher's be them Black, White or Yellow!! That's what's wrong with society now too caught up on color!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

As we hire staff members when vacancies arise, we strive to achieve diversity, but insist on hiring the best candidate. Our student achievement continues to improve.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 28, 2005

My daughter has been at Elmwood since kindergarten. The only Black teacher is the music teacher. Even the teacher interns have all been white. Even with a Black principal for my daughter's first 4 years, the number of Blacks on the instructional staff did not increase. What's wrong with this picture? Where's the diversity?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 35%
White 31% 42%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

531 Dale Ave
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 887-5232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Building Youth
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT