Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fort Garrison Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Fort Garrison is a school which takes itself way too seriously. It takes flexibility, and kids who do not fit into a cookie cutter mold are generally discouraged, and in some cases sabotaged from moving on to environments which might better suit them. Despite it's status as a Baltimore County Lighthouse (using technology in education) flagship school, teachers in many cases do not reliably enter grades into the online system in a timely fashion, and there have been cases where work has been omitted and grades are based on "cherry picking". This is probably a decent school for average kids, but a terrible place for a bright and creative child.

Fort Garrison Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
There are some fine teachers at this school, and also some who are over-impressed with their own authority and often heavy-handed and even adversarial towards students' development.


Fort Garrison Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Too much busywork, but not enough meaningful assignments. A lot of the homework is rote work, and not at a level that encourages thought.

Fort Garrison Elementary School 3

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
The education is good but as my friends and I used to say "useless for the future". It is a lighthouse school currently, but I never had that going to FGES. The food at the cafeteria is horrible, as well as the majority of the staff at the cafeteria. The learning experience is pretty good but not as well as my current school's lower school.

Fort Garrison Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is currently in 4th grade and has attended the school since Kindergarten. She is in the G&T program, and definitely finds the school work challenging. I have found the principal to be very helpful in conflict resolution (bullying). Some of my parent-to-parent interactions have been suboptimal because I don't believe that everyone feels that collaboration is important, but that is not a reflection of the school. The school is a bit weak in the diversity of students, but, again, not the fault of the school. We had just one poor teacher and the school worked with the whole grade to compensate for her lack of teaching ability and moved quickly to pass on this weak tenured teacher elsewhere. I am glad my daughter goes here and she really likes it and did not want to move to a private school sooner, which was an option. We will stay here through 5th grade and likely switch to a private school at that time.


Fort Garrison Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
Update to the post below...I meant to post 4 stars. The rating said "above average" but only showed 2 stars.

Fort Garrison Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
I had nothing but problems from this school. I think this school only cares about test scores and really doesn't want to help the kids who need extra help. The best thing I did was to take my daughter out of that school! She went from failing the fifth grade to being an A student in a short time. If she had so many problems how could that have happened? Be very careful with Fort Garrison and don't think for a minute that the staff will help you. They really seem to ignore any problems with there teachers they would rather place the blame on the students even when it is clearly not their fault

Fort Garrison Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2006
- a parent
Our older son just graduated this year from FGE School this year, and I am really happy that he received a great education and became a GT student. Everything is great about FGE school: principal, teachers, support staff, education, care, etc. I am looking farward for my younger kids to go to FGE school.


Fort Garrison Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2004
- a parent
Fort Garrison is a top notch elementary school I am a parent and an educator, and I have been thoroughly impressed with the quality of teachers, the impressive involvement of the administration, and the amazing PTA. Public schools don't get better than this!

Fort Garrison Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 13, 2004
- a parent
LAST COMMENT This happened to several frustrated families that I spoke to...at the end they were left feeling helpless because none of the issues ever gets resolved! The teachers always get the final word and full backing. As for the parents that these comments will probably anger, please don t judge others so quickly until you have been in their place. To make this school a better place they need to take the time to listen & investigate concerns & better understand parents. They ask the parents to be understanding & cooperative & donate their time, effort, money as well as donations during the year. We are happy to help and volunteer & do everything to make our school a great place for our kids. As a parent all I m asking for is a little more respect & to be taken seriously when I ask for your help in dealing with difficult teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Garrison Elementary School
3310 Woodvalley Dr, Baltimore, MD  21208
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (410) 887-1203
Last modified Fort Garrison Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top