Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gunpowder Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 517 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

This is my son's first year at Gunpowder. They have been great so far helping him transfer as a new student. The guidance counselor has met with him and checked on his progress. So far I am very pleased with everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

I love being a teacher at Gunpowder Elementary School. Everyone is helpful and the school is so welcoming! I am very happy to be a part of such an amazing team of teachers and students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2012

My daughter is soo happy in this school, it's a safe clean school with great teaching skills.Parent involvement is great too basically this school provides excellent experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

My daughter is in her second year at Gunpowder and I couldn't be more pleased with the faculty and staff. I feel safe leaving her in their care and I know she is getting a great education. This must be said, some of the parents are not thrilled with the principal and rules in general, but I find Mrs. Smith to be wonderful and very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

Gunpowder is a wonderful school. My daughter is starting her second year there and I couldn't be happier. We moved before she started K and I am so pleased we moved within Gunpowder's school zone. Parent envolvement at the school is wonderful. Teachers and staff are very helpful, great with the students and kind. The principal I have heard can be strict and by the books, but I have had nothing but good experiences with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

A very well managed school! Safe, clean, no troubles and the kids are learning!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love that they are very family oriented. My son is so happy here. His teachers and the parent volunteers are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

This is a wonderful school. I love school , I wish there was a Gunpowder Middle School. My daughter has been an A student since third grade. Her teachers were very helpful and sincere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My son just finished kindergarten this year and I was so impressed with the school and its staff. They really care about each child and their families. The standardized test scores they sent home this year showed way above state averages and higher than other schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I am a grandparent and I am very pleased with this school and the activities they provide make it a family experience.


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter started Kindergarten at Gunpowder this year. My husband & I couldn't be happier with the school, as well as the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Both my son and daughter had a fabulous year! I am so pleased with the education they are receiving! The staff and administration work very hard at keeping Gunpowder a top-notch school. It is also nice to see such strong parent support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My daughter was in elementary class this year. I was very impressed with the amount of learning activities. The attention paid to teaching the students to read. It made a big difference to my daughter. Just to see my daughter sit down and have the love of reading at her age. I was also impressed with the involvement of the parents, and the helpfulness of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Great school! My kids transfered from Cromwell Valley because we moved, but I am very impressed with the way that Gumpowder has shown that they can offer the same program, love and respect for the Students that we recieved. I was broken hearted at first I must admit... but I have realized that Gunpowder is a Awesome some that can stand tall with any Magnet Program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

Great school. Huge support from PTA. Very impressed with the education my children are recieving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

I love this school my children came from a poorly ran city school to the best school in the county. I feel that this school fit both of my childrens needs, even my special needs child.The staff involvement is wonderful. I Love, LOVE this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 43%
Black 14% 36%
Asian 12% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9540 Holiday Manor Rd
Baltimore, MD 21236
Phone: (410) 887-5121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT