Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 751

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillcrest Elementary School 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Hillcrest is a highly varied experience. A handful of amazing teachers but most of the teachers are awful. I agree with a previous comment that the school and the parents are overall not welcoming. This does impact my children's enjoyment of school.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
There is a very good reason that Hillcrest Elementary School is a solid 10, even with the challenges of overcrowding. It attracts excellent teachers and it is supported above and beyond by amazing parents. Financially the PTA is heads above other schools. In 2014 $50,000 was raised by different events to enhance the educational experience for our children. A 2nd fundraiser donated $35,000 to the technology department. The children in every grade are exposed to incredible learning opportunities, an active garden and PTA evening events. The teachers, for the most part are approachable and really interested in our children. The atmosphere in the school is great.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Hillcrest has the best school in Catonsville. The administration is welcoming and able to deal very well with the overcrowding situation that has developed recently due to the word getting out that this is the school district to move into in Baltimore County. The teachers are caring, atune to studnet needs and go above and beyond to make learning fun and challenging at the same time. The afterschool clubs are a big plus at Hillcrest, as is the PTA, which is very active and plans unbelievable functions such as Math and Science, Literature and International Nights. All my children have either attended or are attending Hillcrest and those that have moved on to middle and high school were very prepared. I have nothing negative to say about this great school!

Hillcrest Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers Are great at Hillcrest and I agree with the previous post that there are a lot of changes going on. However that should not be an excuse for the legitimate concerns brought up but other parents about their child being left behind.... Although my child is having a wonderful experience, I have heard these concerns form a few parents. Change happens everywhere but seems to be more so in education. If a teacher can't handle change whether new or old, it's time to get a new profession!

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
It is a shame for all concerned that a couple of parents have had challenging experiences with teachers. Hopefully they have addressed the situation either with the teacher or the administration - that is the most effective route, and the one that the school itself would recommend. Overall, Hillcrest is both a quality education and a bargain. The 2nd and 3rd grade teams specifically have some of the most well-respected teachers in the school.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Hillcrest is an amazing elementary school. The administrative staff and teachers work extremely hard to be sure that all students are meeting their full potential. The parent community and PTA is very active and supportive. Volunteers are ALWAYS present in the school. I disagree with previous negative comments about teaching staff. I think we all need to keep in mind that this year is a huge transition year with the new Core, BCPS curriculum (which is still being written), evaluation process for teachers. I am thankful that our teachers at Hillcrest have the experience, administrative support, and resources to handle all of these changes. Let's appreciate that and imagine how teachers with no experience must be feeling at this point. Our kids are in good hands at Hillcrest.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
Hillcrest is the best kept secret in Baltimore County. It continues to amaze even though it is clearly challenged with overcrowding. The teachers go above and beyond to enrich the educational environment and we have been very happy with our child's progress. The healthy PTA continues to amaze. The extra PTA funded events that are held during the year are incredible and the kids love them. Literature night, Math and science night and International night are always well attended. The technology department is also well funded and offers progressive education unlike many of the other schools in BCPS system

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This great community school manages to provide a quality education despite significant overcrowding. The teachers are great, the administration is supportive, and the PTA is amazing. The facilities are starting to show some wear and tear b/c of age.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
It is so interesting that there are a few parents who seem to have had poor experiences at HES while the rest of us are thrilled with the education our children receive. I can only chalk this up to a mismatch b/w the child and teacher or isolated incidences. In regards to the parents being snobby- really? This is a measure of school quality? As the parent of a student new to the school, I couldn't disagree more- I have felt welcomed and engaged from day 1. Great experience thus far. I know there are lots of concerns about the curriculum that is being rolled out this year in response to the Common Core Standards- these are viable concerns but do not reflect limitations of the teachers. Great school!

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
2 of my girls started their schooling here, one is in 4th grade and the other in 2nd. We have been pleased with every teacher every year. The school offers a lot of after school activities through the well supported PTA. Its a great school with great kids, great teachers, and great administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillcrest Elementary School
1500 Frederick Rd, Baltimore, MD  21228
(410) 887-0820
Last modified Hillcrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillcrest Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top