Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillcrest Elementary School 3

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
There are more bad apples than good. Out of 7 teachers so far only 2 have shown that they truly care about my children. I do plan on moving them out of this school for the next school year.

Hillcrest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
There are two teachers there who have demonstrated a passion to teach and genuine care for children.


Hillcrest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do not treat all children the same. Although it is a diverse school there is not a high level of equality unfortunately.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a community member
My own daughter went here many years ago and we were beyond thrilled with the staff and the activities and overall environment... Now, I mentor some children who also attend this school.. It is still just as wonderful as ever... Caring staff , good teaching , lots of activities...I am happy that these children attend this school..

Hillcrest Elementary School 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Hillcrest is a highly varied experience. A handful of amazing teachers but most of the teachers are awful. I agree with a previous comment that the school and the parents are overall not welcoming. This does impact my children's enjoyment of school.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
There is a very good reason that Hillcrest Elementary School is a solid 10, even with the challenges of overcrowding. It attracts excellent teachers and it is supported above and beyond by amazing parents. Financially the PTA is heads above other schools. In 2014 $50,000 was raised by different events to enhance the educational experience for our children. A 2nd fundraiser donated $35,000 to the technology department. The children in every grade are exposed to incredible learning opportunities, an active garden and PTA evening events. The teachers, for the most part are approachable and really interested in our children. The atmosphere in the school is great.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Hillcrest has the best school in Catonsville. The administration is welcoming and able to deal very well with the overcrowding situation that has developed recently due to the word getting out that this is the school district to move into in Baltimore County. The teachers are caring, atune to studnet needs and go above and beyond to make learning fun and challenging at the same time. The afterschool clubs are a big plus at Hillcrest, as is the PTA, which is very active and plans unbelievable functions such as Math and Science, Literature and International Nights. All my children have either attended or are attending Hillcrest and those that have moved on to middle and high school were very prepared. I have nothing negative to say about this great school!

Hillcrest Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers Are great at Hillcrest and I agree with the previous post that there are a lot of changes going on. However that should not be an excuse for the legitimate concerns brought up but other parents about their child being left behind.... Although my child is having a wonderful experience, I have heard these concerns form a few parents. Change happens everywhere but seems to be more so in education. If a teacher can't handle change whether new or old, it's time to get a new profession!


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
It is a shame for all concerned that a couple of parents have had challenging experiences with teachers. Hopefully they have addressed the situation either with the teacher or the administration - that is the most effective route, and the one that the school itself would recommend. Overall, Hillcrest is both a quality education and a bargain. The 2nd and 3rd grade teams specifically have some of the most well-respected teachers in the school.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Hillcrest is an amazing elementary school. The administrative staff and teachers work extremely hard to be sure that all students are meeting their full potential. The parent community and PTA is very active and supportive. Volunteers are ALWAYS present in the school. I disagree with previous negative comments about teaching staff. I think we all need to keep in mind that this year is a huge transition year with the new Core, BCPS curriculum (which is still being written), evaluation process for teachers. I am thankful that our teachers at Hillcrest have the experience, administrative support, and resources to handle all of these changes. Let's appreciate that and imagine how teachers with no experience must be feeling at this point. Our kids are in good hands at Hillcrest.

Nearby schools

Hillcrest Elementary School
1500 Frederick Rd, Baltimore, MD  21228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (410) 887-0820
Last modified Hillcrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top