Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Halstead Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank the principal, Mrs. Mullenax for featuring my son in the radio excerpt discussing the new technology at the school. I enjoyed getting to see an inside view of the school's progress. The article was exciting to read and it was a great opportunity for him to do what he does best: Talk.

Halstead Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
This school is moving forward with technology and is overall an excellently run school despite the area it is located. The artwork throughout the hallways is inspiring and the staff is phenomenal. Great job Halstead.


Halstead Academy 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a community member
Halstead is an amazing school! While there has been a negative reputation at one point...this school is now awesome. The staff is beyond compassionate and truly care of their students! I would be honored to have my child attend Halstead Academy!

Halstead Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
My grandson is in the 3rd grade and loves everything about this school. The staff are so hands on with the children. The kids are awesome. Never any complaints.

Halstead Academy 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is excllent. I have two children currently attending, 1st & 3rd grades and they are excelling and they look forward to attending school. The class sizes are pretty small for a public school and the community is top notch. Teachers and staff are available in a variety of ways. The school is also great with collaborating with outside entities to sponsor FREE activities for the children. All of the teachers that I have met have been very accommodating, especially to my 3rd grader who can be a handful at times. I great appreciate all the staff has done to keep her on the right path to become a great student. Also, My 3rd grader was also in the drama club, unfortunately it was operated, to my knowledge, by some college kids who could no longer do it. It was a great club and my daughter loved it. Hopefully, they find someone to pick it up.


Halstead Academy 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Now a Green School, the Halstead Academy has continued to prove their willingness to work with external partners to increase literacy percentiles. People often feel that when their child does not succeed, it is the sole responsibility of education systems and its employees. Children succeed when the work that is taught in acedemic institutions is reinforced at home. This theory applies not only to children in adolescence but also college students. Studying to improve ones self is the Master Key to success.

Halstead Academy 3

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
What happened to Drama Club???? My daughter loved this program and then it ended a few weeks after it began!

Halstead Academy 3

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
Halstead Academy was a school that my two younger children went to until we moved. My youngest child had Mrs.Griffin as her teacher for third grade as she was wonderful. So sad that she will be leaving, it won't be the same without her!! It's been many changes since the new principal and I don't think the staff likes it. On another note the neighborhood is nice!!


Halstead Academy 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
I think working being the Principal at this school is just a job to Ms Mullenex

Halstead Academy 1

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS NOT WHAT IT USE TO BE SINCE MRS JILL CARTER IS NO LONGER THERE

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Halstead Academy
1111 Halstead Rd, Baltimore, MD  21234
(410) 887-3210
Last modified Halstead Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Halstead Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top