Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 657
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnnycake Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
There were very low or mediocre expectations for students in terms of respect. Students, depending on race or other issues were allowed to get away with very horrific things towards each other with little to no consequence.

Johnnycake Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
There are no community service projects that I have seen students be involved in outside of a health campaign which was sent home completely in Spanish.


Johnnycake Elementary School 3

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the school has some great resources and some good staff. I do believe parent/teacher communication needs a major "do-over." There can be a huge lack of professionalism in some of the teachers or outright refusal to communicate about important matters regarding some of the children. I believe there should be higher expectations for students and staff. People need to go the extra mile to help students succeed. There are very little learning experiences outside of the classroom. There was only one field trip the entire year, few resources, and a general, "business as usual" attitude here. There are some good programs and great support people. However, I would seriously consider shopping around for a better school if you can.

Johnnycake Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I do believe that teachers have favored certain students over others, which teaches the un-favored students that they aren't as valuable.

Johnnycake Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a teacher
This rating of 3 out of 10 is extremely misleading. Our school is a safe environment in which children are encouraged to think creatively and progressively. Many of our children are living in tough circumstances, and even with those life stressors, they are rising to academic challenges and developing college-preparedness. There are several extracurricular opportunities including 5th grade musical, a cappella choir, guitar club, recorder club, 24 club, and National Honors Society. Our teachers are highly qualified. In fact, on our faculty we have a finalist for BCPS Teacher of the Year (one of five teachers selected out of over 8500 teachers county-wide) and a Catonsville Chamber of Commerce Teacher of the Year finalist. We have fully updated technology and we are one of the 10 pilot schools for a Spanish language education program. Though our parent involvement is low, most of our parents are hard-working people working two or three jobs. Any child would be lucky to attend to Johnnycake and any teacher is lucky to work with the innovative and resilient students of Johnnycake.


Johnnycake Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
Others should know that JCE has 4 CALS classrooms for special needs (Austism) and is doing an awesome job! I actually recommended an externship there or at least an observation to a Towson University Special Education student last Wednesday. Ms. Bartus and the others are doing awesome work there.

Johnnycake Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Great faculty and staff that really care about the students and make efforts to meet the needs of diverse students, including those with special social and emotional needs.

Johnnycake Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Johnnycake has the most dedicated and caring teachers that I have ever had the pleasure to work with. When problems come up, they are dealt with quickly and efficiently and a positive attitude prevails.


Johnnycake Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
My school is an amazing place where students grow academically and socially. The parents are very supportive and the teachers work incredibly hard to provide safe and happy learning environments.

Johnnycake Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
My school is challenging. We definitely have our fair share of issues, however, we have a close knit caring staff that try to do their best every day. The relationships that develop between the staff and students are those that should be emulated. We could certainly always improve and we always need more...supplies, teachers, classrooms, etc but our school has a lot of heart.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnnycake Elementary School
5910 Craigmont Rd, Baltimore, MD  21228
(410) 887-0823
Last modified Johnnycake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnnycake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top