Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kenwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 1728 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2014

This is a nice school. May have good facilities and good teaching methods. I learned a lot from this.


Posted September 17, 2014

This school is great. This year the principal is doing something rarely good. It has a lot of classrooms and well great teachers.


Posted December 28, 2007

Kenwood has recently added a new wing, including new classrooms and a satelittle caffeteria. There are parts of the school that may be less than perfect, but i think that is the case in many schools. The principal is new and nevertheless doing a fairly good job. Most of the teachers seem dedicated as well, but a students education is what he makes it. There are always opportunities for higher level classes if the student has motivation for it. There are a huge range of extracurriculars. You will get a regular high school experience here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2007

My child is new to Kenwood this year. This is her home school, but she could have applied anywhere and gotten in. After viewing all the other High Schools, we chose Kenwood. I have not made up my mind whether it is a good school or not. I have seen both good and bad at the school. There are problems at any school you attend. How it is handled makes all the difference in the world. The principal seems to genuinely care, but I haven t yet figured out if he s doing a good job or not. He seems to reiterate the same thing over and over again. The school is run down and dirty. I haven t yet determined if I like the academics and the teachers. The parental involvement is lacking. One of the first 9th grade parent meetings of the year had less than 10 parents in attendance. Parents definitely need to get involved in their children s education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

As a recent grad of Kenwood's IB program, I have to say that I had an above average high school experience, but that was not because of anything other than my own drive and determination. I wanted to get a higher level education, so I did IB. Even for students who don't get into IB, there are still AP and Honors classes. There is no reason that any student should get a bad education other than he or she not trying. Most of the teachers I encountered were dedicated to their jobs, and Kenwood provides more than adequate after-school activities. The school may have a drug problem, and some parts of the school may be in disrepair, but I can almost promise you that you will find that in 95% of public high schools around the nation. Kenwood is not a bad school, it just has a lot of underachievers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2005

I am a parent of a student in the Sports Science program. She attended a private grade school and only achieved average marks. When it came time to choose a high school she wanted to attend a public school and I must say this has proven to be a great school. My child now takes honors classes and absolutely loves this school The teachers are genuinely concerned about each and every child and this has caused my child to thrive. As far as the previous writer says concerning the lack of caring teachers and the filth of the school I think they need to go and visit Kenwood as great strides are being made every day. Just to let you know my child was not zoned for this school, but we chose this school over the more highly rated Eastern Tech.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I would like to comment that the previous post about Kenwood unfortunately reflects the lack of attention being placed on even fundamental writing skills. As a graduate from the IB program, I'd like to clarify that as a magnet program, IB proves to be comparable to others in the county. However, quality is often sacrificed in the standard classes due to an overwhelming need to control behavior issues and a culture of underachievement in general. Kenwood offers great music opportunity for instrumental students. In the area of sports, students can enjoy a variety and even intramurals. As a parents, you should note that standard classes are a way for students to fall through the cracks. Please urge your students to participate in AP and Honors classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2004

I actually attended Kenwood High School and graduated as a member of the IB program. I don't particularly give any credence to those who would diminish Kenwood. I received an education that I would put on par with that of local private schools as I embark on my first year of pharmacy school. And I am not an anomaly- 3 of my fellow grads are in Med school, 1 in Law school, one has his Master's in PT, and another is in grad school for Historical Preservation. We all came from the same Essex neighborhoods, and come from similar economic status. Kenwood proves that anyone can succeed- even those from the seemingly 'lower end' of the socio-economic spectrum. It is just like anything else- it is yours to make what you wish of it. We have proven that it can be turned into the most prolific careers out there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2004

I have had two children attend this school. The new principal there has improved the quality of the school so much that I would recommend it to anyone. My youngest is in Sports Science and many extracurricular sports and is doing great. She made the national honor society. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Black 31% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Stemmers Run Rd
Baltimore, MD 21221
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 887-0153

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Evening High School
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT