Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lansdowne Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

I'm in the magnet program and this school is great I like it a lot and it's so fun with my friends teachers are nice and the only thing I hate is math.


Posted May 6, 2010

As an 8th grade student attending Lansdowne middle school, In my opinion, i really love this school. I am excited to go to school everyday. The teachers really care about us. They really try their best to teach us with their abilities! I don't understand why this school got many low ratings. Lansdowne improve so much since my sixth grade year. But I gotta say, i thought my sixth grade year was horrible. Lansdowne was very dull at that time. I wasn't excited to come to school at all! But! Things changed when i got into the 7th grade! Everything changed in LMS, we had new teachers, activities, after school programs, and even new principals & vice principals. 7th grade was probably the most excited year of my middle school experienced. I was very excited come to school. It was like a differennt enviroment! I earned straight As. (continue)..
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2010

This school is .. Indescribable. There are fights all time and a lot of the students couldnt care less about grades. , My non gifted and talented classes are really hard to focus in. But there are a few really good teachers and classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

The school has done a complete overhaul with faculty and programs offered to the students. I currently have not seen any improvements into the Magna Program. My daughter attends the Magna Program that in my opinion is not challenging enough for the students. I have thought about removing her, but with her having one (1) year left it is not feasible to remove her to start somewhere new for her last year in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I think this school improved this year last year this school was out of control!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

My son started as a 6th grader in Sept of 2008 and this was the worst experience ever! Please be aware of this environment, the students are horrible! Fortunately, the teachers were great, and the principal was a doll. We have since moved on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

My child has attended this school for two years. There is very little parent involvement in this school which really hurts the learning process. Students are not challenged. There are good teachers and then you have some lemons who do not teach to the curriculum. It is a very hard school to communicate with the parents, teacher, and administration. If I could I would send my child to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

My child just started here 6th.grade. So far I've found teachers & staff to be very helpful and friendly. My child loves this school so far. There's many incentives to learn & stay focused. Great teams,team leaders who keep track of every nuance of your child's work. It's really great for parents to see the printouts for each subject, now you know how your child's really doing. Also it's comforting to know they take discipline seriously. They don't let trouble makers get away with everything to make the school appears to be wonderful when it's not (like in elementary). My child's team leader & homeroom/math teacher have went above the call & went the extra miles to help us in everyway they could. This goes for all the teachers my child deals with everyday. We love how this school runs except for allowing one door entrance for all student every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

This school is funny, You have teachers that really care, then you have teachers and principals that don't give a darn. My daughters, and son all attend this middle school. And I can't wait until they graduate. I have never been to a school where it feels so cold...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Black 35% 35%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Lansdowne Rd
Baltimore, MD 21227
Phone: (410) 887-1411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bridge Center
Baltimore, MD



Ucp Delrey School
Halethorpe, MD


Westport Academy
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT