Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loch Raven Technical Academy

Public | 6-8 | 669 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

My son is currently in 8th grade. It is well managed and challenge the kids to excel. The growth in test scores is fantastic and the kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

I went here and I loved it..... except for it's long hallways lol. Some teachers were great. I miss it.


Posted November 5, 2012

This my daughter's first year here and so far so good. I really like that they encourage the children to come back and get their grades changes if they aren't good. They offer every opportunity for them to get higher grade. Much different from when I went to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

i think it's a wonderful school some of theteachers are nice and everythings just great
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

My child did not have a good school year with at least two of her 7th. grade teachers. Their style appeared to be somewhat not stable and questionable. My student made honor roll the first quarter and it was down hill ever since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I hink the school is pretty good.Then have done better then a few years ago.I met alot of friends.There are fights ,but the teachers could handle it.the preforming arts group plays some good music.The enviromental and well all the magnets are fun and creative.the teachers are very nice.Like Ms.Prizzi the orchestra teacher...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

I'm currently im last year at this school. Frankly I think that if you are not in GT don't come.You will be stuck in classes with kids who don't take education seriously. I have a word of advice if you are not in GT go to another school. Some teachers were great really but dont depend on communitcation from certain teachers. Also their performing arts magnet is not so great either. Stick with law or envirmental magnet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2008

I just wanted to elaborate on my other review about this school.I am in GT classes and I won Champions of Courage so as I said before this school has potential and creativity!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

I think this school is good, although I only been there for the first term. They have a good environmental science magnet program.


Posted July 2, 2007

I been goiing to this school for a while and I just love it so much. I think the teacher are great.will I am a 8 grader and I this is mi last year. I been going ther for 3 year. I dont know what school I rather gradute from. the magnet are great mostly art they have so much stuff to teach.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

I am currently an 8th Grader here at Loch Raven and I believe that this school is great. People need to stop putting down the school because it is great. I have been here all three years and I haven't failed any classes. Kids fail because they don't care and I beleve Loch Raven Academy is the best school in the county hands down. K.A.Williams
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2007

this is my sons first year at this school,i must admit i am pleasantly surprised.coming from an elementary school where things ran great and the environment was awesome,we feared the transition into a school where we heard so many negative things.LRA is a very good school as so with any school these days there is room for improvement.however,the staff we believe are committed to making it the best learning experience for all the children.As much as that is true, so much depends upon the child and his or her willingness to learn.I would strongly recommend any parent whose child is about to transition to consider this school an option and as the kids these days are saying don't believe the hype regarding the negativity check it out for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

Before I transferred my child into LRA, I heard good things about the school. However, I was very disappointed. My child is in all GT classes and she is very serious about her education. She has found some students to be very disruptive and unruly, making it very difficult for the students who are interested in learning. Also, because of her being in GT, some teachers feel that she shouldn't have any problems with assignments and therefore, are unwilling to answer questions when she's not clear about an assignment. I think it's unfair that a teacher is not willing to explain a subject because of the child being GT, after all, if they knew everything, they wouldn't need to go to school, our children are there to learn and it is the responsibility of the teacher to teach them. I am not at all pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2005

I graduated from Loch Raven Academy this past year in June. I'm now in a city wide school doing very well. I attended Loch Raven all of my three years, and had not many problems. Loch Raven distributes a very good education for students. If anything it is the best magnet school in Baltimore County.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 29, 2005

This is my daughter's final year at LRA and I cannot wait until June. It has been a rough road and the school has been a big disappointment. I placed my daughter in the school because she was interested in the Performing Arts magnet. The students are often very disruptive making it difficult to have a good working environment. Communication with most teachers takes a significant amount of effort so that they take you seriously and realize that you truly are interested in you child's education. There have also been 3 principals in the 3 years my child has been at the school. I must say my daughter however likes the school and loves performing arts. The Performing Arts Teachers are great and prepare the students for continuing in this field. There are also a few others that are exceptional teachers as well. My advice...look before you leap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

I do not like the school at all! Both my kids hated it and my son failed because he disliked it so much. I'm not saying that the teacher's are all bad because some were very nice! I don't like the fact that they have to wear academy shirts because the kids really don't like to have to wear them. I think it should be the kids and parents choice. There is just something about the school that my kids hated so much and they could not function properly in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

I am currently an 8th grader at LRA, and I'm dying to get out! If you want your child to go to a more diciplined school, click the 'back' button very quickly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2004

This is an excellent school for children to go to . They have a great magnet program and my child has learned so much since going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

This school is amazing and has brought a new meaning to my life. The teachers are great....they are dedicated to what they are doing and are really making differencees in students lives. The magnet programs are amazingly organized and can really prpare u for a magnet high school or a job that u want to do later in life. This is a school that shows real life to children and gives each child the attention and help he or she needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2003

The teaching staff has put together a good plan of action to keep my son on track with completing home assignments and projects. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 36%
White 17% 43%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8101 La Salle Rd
Baltimore, MD 21286
Phone: (410) 887-3518

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Pius X School
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT