Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martin Boulevard Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 279 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2010

I have a quick question and perhaps someone reading this may be able to help me. I live on Middle River Road and I have 3 schools near to me and yet my son is bused to Middlesex Elem. I know this school is down the street from me, so how do I go about getting my son enrolled in MBES. Thank you ~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

This is a awesome school with caring administrators and teachers.My child loves this school and her teachers.We couldn't ask for anything better!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I subsitute teach and also have grandkids that attend MBE. I think it is the best school in the area. The staff support is great and the attitude of the students is the most cooperative I've seen. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

i really like this school ....very helpful and supportive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

They did a tremendous job with children. My daughter will have a great start at her new school because I know that she was taught well by her teachers and assistant teachers in Martin Blvd. Elementary. The teachers in Pre-K are wonderful and a big asset to the school. For children as young as 4 understand and communicate to their peers and parents with respect and I think some values were not only learned at home but at school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Well I have been around Martin Blvd. for a very long time and since no child left behind many things have changed. Kids don't know how to socialize because they have no opportunities. NCLB is creating problems for all levels of learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I have 1 child in 2nd grade and another in Pre-K. The oldest has been here since Kindergarten, and has whole heartedly enjoyed his experience thus far. I happen to share his enthusiasm! Parents are involved on every level, giving me the opportunity to reinforce what they are taught throughout the day. They are able to enjoy computer labs, art, music, athletics!!! Not only that but they have tutors on site that keep our children up to par with skills that they lack, on a daily basis, reading ,math, etc...! Not to mention their Accelerated Programs that challenge your child and give them opportunities to challenge themselves everyday. You are also able to receive daily behavioral updates on you child, at your request, to fix problems before they start. All faculty are qualified individuals that are easy to access daily, and enthusiastically entertain all reasonable requests made by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

I went to Martin Boulevard for 4 1/2 years and it was one of my favorite schools I've ever been in. All the teachers were wonderful and I had such a great time in that school. The staff really cares about each child and they do their best to ensure that everyone has an unique learning experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 24, 2004

My second child is attending Martin Blvd Elementary this year and he is in kindergarten. His brother is nine years older and had his entire elementary experience at Martin Blvd. I loved the staff then and they continue to garner my respect now. It's a wonderful elementary school and I couldn't have asked for a better learning environment for my children. They are concerned, whether it's a good situation, or maybe a not so good situation, about the individual child. They praise as well as discipline each individual child on their own merits. Things, unfortunately, have changed somewhat in the neighborhood, but the one strong constant is the high level of education that my children are receiving at Martin Blvd.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Black 29% 35%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Riverton Rd
Baltimore, MD 21220
Phone: (410) 887-0158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT