Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

MD Academy of Technology and Health Sciences Middle/High School

Charter | 6-12 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2012

RE: 5-7-12 posting: Never assume things. You are completely wrong as to what subject I taught. You are completely wrong as to my attendance to a Christmas party that I opposed. Why on earth would I attend a party that I opposed? Why would you make such flagrant assumptions about a person that you do not know? You have a told a person to quit their job as if they have a million dollars in the bank or some other person to support them or there are 20,000 other open teaching jobs out there waiting to be filled. Yes, quitting one's job in the middle of the school year is really responsible, leaving everyone on the hook. Leaving classes with no teacher. Being unable to pay my bills because I qut my job. Yes, that sounds responsible and reasonable. It would reasonable for an administration to offer support to their teachers, and to fill in the gaps in education that the students are missing. You perpetuate the problem of the acceptance in students' complete lack of education in the district. That's why they spend one whole year of college repeating high school courses. I still talk to some of my students. Why is this school's rating a 3? Good thing the principal was fired!


Posted May 7, 2012

What alarms me as a teacher is the fact that a teacher would vent their frustration publicly. I assumption is that the teacher posting on April 25, 2012 is a current employee of the district. As a professional, assummingly, what have you done to correct the fact that students can't locate Europe on a map; you clearly have to be the Social Studies teacher at the school. Also, you make it appear as if this school is the only school where students can't locate Europe on the map; you perhaps are part of the problem possibly. Be a true teacher and meet kids where they are and teach. As far as the elegant Christmas party, it's not mandatory to attend and you probably did and now you talk about the school. You are so indicative of the mean-spirited teacher corp of the city - mean-spirited, unappreciative and ineffective. Let the true teacher in you , if there is one, stand up and do what you should do to make things a little better - QUIT. As a teacher in the city, I again find this to be totally unprofessional.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2010

After reading the school mission statement online I thought this would be a great school to send my son to. But once I really got to know the staff and the curriculum I felt bad dropping my son off to school each day until I transferred him. The staff is GHETTO!! And the special academics as far as touring colleges were only offered to certain students. Homework was presented in a ditto form which is out ragious for high school. This school definately does not prepare students for college. The only difference between this school and the rest of the failing baltimore city schools and that this school just has less students. I would never recommend sending any child that is planning to attend college to this school. My son said it felt like being in a detention center. His personally trully changed for the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

This school is great my son has attend this school since it open in 2006 and hasnt left at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

This school is so disorganized
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

This school is bad. The principal dosn't really cares and the students are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 36%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4701 Greenspring Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
Phone: (410) 262-6072

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT