Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sudbrook Magnet Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2009

I'm currently in eighth grade at at Sudbrook and I have to cay that the teachers are excellent and the performing arts are advanced as we play music meant for high schools and have gotten to the state festival almost every year except this year where the orchestra didn't make it and the chorus and the band and chorus have not gone yet. Mr. Mitroff is the BEST conductor in the WORLD!!! don't like the uniforms though
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

The school needs to modernize, the dress code becomes frustrating and causes extea money to wash the same clothes. THE SCHOOL IS NOT COOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

I am still going to sudbrook now. It is my first year. I have to say it is the best school ever. We are like no other school. Most Middle schools do baby play we have adult plays. I LOVE MY TEACHER MR.TILLER. He rocks. I am so happy that I applied here and because of this school I will do great in high school and college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

sudbrook is the best but the only thing i dont like is that you can see the plummbing on the roof. The uniforms are great and the lunch menu is delisious!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

i am still currently going to this school and i must say that it is the best school ever its warm enviorment and we all worked hard to get here we have a lot of extra things going on with us unlike most middle schools with our magnet program i must say sudbrook magnet middle school is the best school evah!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

Sudbrook is a five star school. This is my first year there and I have learned so much . I love Sudbrook!!!!!!!!


Posted October 1, 2008

hi i am currently enrolled at sudbrook mms this is my third in final year (GO 09') in my years of going here i have gained so much knowledge and warmth out of learning yes i admitt that first year was quite difficult but the fact of the matter is i felt my self growing in knowledge . without sudbrook i would not be the person i am today I LOVE U SMMS
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

i think that sudbrook is real shructure and is a grat school but with a lot of kids and its really nice because i go there and its a good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

Sudbrook has given my daughter an experience that's worth a lifetime! class of 2008 is great! 'go Morgan & Briana'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

o.k i guess i am saying it because i am a student but it is a good school. it could live with out a few rules and teachers there but its good. i am in 7th grade there and know people in algebra 2.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2007

I currently attend Sudbrook now and think it is great. I have been in 3 Sudbrook shows (The Diary of Anne Frank, FAME, and Fools). These Broadway worthy shows are directed by the fabulous Garry Tiller. I am also involved in Student Council and Peer Helpers. Sudbrook is a good environment for learning and the staff supports and encouraging us (the students). If you want your child in a good school this is the school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2007

I rate this school at 10.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2007

This is the best school in Baltimore county. These children are headed to a great future
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

I am extremely impresed by this school. The academic and GT programs are excellent as well as the magnets that are offered. The teachers are very accessible via e-mail or phone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

eight sudbrook students,7&8 graders, received John Hopkins University/ Center for Talented Youth 2007 Awards for scoring higher than the average college-bound twelfth grade student on the SAT or ACT. By my count more Sudbrook sudents were awarded than any other middle school, public or private that attended ceremony, Maryland-North. Sudbrook is not perfect, but it exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

It is nice but not helpful when people who didn't like something about the school don't offer any feedback. As a parent I am a witness to the high standard of education in Sudbrook. Mr. Tiller is very creative and has great productions. As a student, I would like my child to have had the experience-and opportunity- of applause on stage. Not being picked ever has discouraged him greatly and doesn't want to audition anymore. Although in real life acting is a world of rejections I believe that at school one should have the chance to be onstage at least once to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I think that Sudbrook is an excellent school. It is a very good school for my child. She loves having a spcialty there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

I attended Sudbrook through 8th grade, and I had the best time of my life. I go to Pikesville High School now, and I never knew that I could miss my middle school so much. The diversity was one of a kind,the teachers were excellent, and the overall spirit of the school was incredible. One of the most important things that I learned at Sudbrook was how to conduct yourself around others. Okay, I didn't completely learn that there, but since everyone conducted themselves so well, you pretty much had to act like an adult. It's an amazing sight to see the all of the immature students at my high school. I sincerely wish that I was surrounded by Sudbrook middle school kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 17, 2007

I am currently a student at Sudbrook, and it is the most amazing thing that ever happened to me. Iv'e definatly had the time of my life there! I have made so many amazing friends, and i get to do what i love, while getting the top notch academics. I have so many friends, and sudbrook has a really diverse environment. The teachers i have had are awesome. Send your kids there without a doubt. Sudbrook is great! (I am soglad i went there)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2007

There are not enough 'exciting' extracurricular activities for 6th graders. But other than that and the fact that some students are extremely ignorant towards both teachers and students, this is an excellent school. And the uniform is not really enforced. We are having the 3rd dress down day of the year. When my uncle went here, he said there were only one or two each year. But I like it that uniforms are not really enforced and we have many dress down days.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 35%
White 19% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Bedford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 887-6720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cambridge School
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT