Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sudbrook Magnet Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1014 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2006

I am currently in the 8th grade at Sudbrook and I love it. I am in the Environmental/Earth Science Magnet and it was a lot of fun, and you can get high school credits. Also in 7th grade the science students can go to Smith Island which is great! Sudbrook offers unique exposure to diversity I wouldn't have gotten at my elementary school. The orchestra program is wonderful - we constantly get awards at county,state,and hersheypark festivals! The plays and musicals are awesome. The only thing I regret is not being able to stay with the same people in high school! I also wish the PTA would make their meetings later, they are always really early and that messes up the parent work schedule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

Sudbrook is the best school ever. The dance program is really really good. I never imagined that I could improve so much in only 3 years. I am overall pleased with the work the Mrs Rodgers does as well as Mr Tiller..keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2006

I graduated from SMMS in '99 and to this day, I believe that I recieved the BEST education EVER! Sudbrook had an awesome Foreign Language and Drama department when I was there and from what I have heard, it has only gotten better! The teachers were phenomenol and the diversity in the school prepared one for real life. I am now a university junior, attending on a full scholarship and I owe that in part to SMMS...send your children there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 23, 2005

My son has attended Sudbrook Magnet Middle school for the last three years. He is now in 8th grade there. The education that he has received has been absolutely amazing! You will be hard pressed to find a better middle school education anywhere. SMMS is every parents dream. My son has excelled in Math, Science, Music, and more. I am so glad we made the decision to go with Sudbrook. I know it has prepared him for HS and beyond. Here's to great teachers and a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Fantastic! My daughter attended the 7th grade there, and had a life time experience. The teachers are amazing, the environment really well organized and kids learn how to enjoy the school environment. The Music and Languages Magnet programs are both excellent, and Sudbrook teachers are unforgettable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Excellent! A very great school with terrific teachers, a safe and educational enviorment, and just a top school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2005

My son was a member of Sudbrook's first sixth grade class. Because the Sudbrook staff my son received a great educational foundation. He is now attending a major university with a Sage grant and is working on his PhD degree. -William
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2004

I absoulutely love Sudbrook. It's the best thing to ever happen to me. I just finished doing a show there for the performing arts department, and it turned out better than anything I had ever seen. Ask anyone who's seen a Sudbrook show and they'll tell you how great they are. I LOVE SMMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2004

i believe sudbrook is one of the best schools in eastern usa. it has many different and unique programs to bring in students that are prepard to learn and get an education, and therefore do somthing with their lives. I was in the math, science, and computer technology magnet and by taking this course was able to learn more about computers and technology than any or middle school in Maryland.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2004

I'm impressed by the ethnicity break down of Sudbrook. The shooting test scores prove to everyone that race is not and should not be a factor in the quality of work for students at school. It rather depends on whether the student wants to learn and suceed or rather would be 'cool'. To conclude, Sudbrook Magnet Middle School is a great school. ( Although I am a 7th grader at Pikesville Middle, like it, and doing very well in challenging courses , I still can't help but be impressed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2004

As a 6th grade student at Sudbrook, I find it has been one of the best things to happen to me. I love it. They have an extrodinary Forign Language Dept. As well as great performing arts facilities. Sudbrook is a great school to enroll in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2003

I was in the first class to go through Sudbrook when it reopened. I feel the education I received throroughly prepared me for the future. I am now done school and pursueing a career in Massage Therapy. The advanced technology and wonderful teachers at Sudbrook helped me to suceed both then and on into the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Both of my daughters went to Sudbrook and I have been very pleased with their education. Also one on the many things [they] learn is diversty of a student's religion and ethnic background. Basically [accepting] people for who they are not what color they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

283 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 35%
White 19% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Bedford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 887-6720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cambridge School
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT