Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Perry Hall High School

Public | 9-12 | 2196 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

My diploma-bound child has special needs and is excelling beyond our dreams at PHHS. The current administration and the staff are knowledgeable, caring, approachable, and work hard to integrate children into the school community from athletics to academics. Special educators communicate with parents and are accessible to students. Plus, they know the children well. The one time I hit an obstacle, the administrator for special education services helped me get what was needed for my child. Anyone who says that a child cannot get services has obviously not asked - or they are asking for something that is not in the best interest of the child in my opinion. I also have an older child who has graduated and is doing very well in college due to the excellent preparation gained at the school. I would compare the education given to my children with any private school. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

Best practice is just emerging for diploma tract students with disabilities.. It is a struggle to receive services. The principal and most of administration is not in touch with the needs of students with disabilities. No collaboration between gen ed and special ed. Strong athletics and FALS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

i think phhs is a great school. My older sisters and 3 of my cousins graduated from perry hall and are leading successful lives. The teachers are great, as well as the staff and the school, for the most part, is clean. i love perry hall high and when i get older and have kids i wish to have them go there as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2010

This is a great school. Students are usually great but there are always a few bad apples. School is extremely over crowded and the layout is very complex and non-efficient. Academics are great and so are the staff.


Posted November 13, 2009

Things I like: -Variety courses and encouragement -Parent/teacher conference day: creative -Parent visiting day (super,need highr enrol -Super activities/committees to join -Interview day -90% teacher email responses -Phone messages for events -Interim reports -Wonderful/helpful secretaries Topics to improve: -Professional signs in hallways to main office, dept. Hang art (especially on open house) -Bigger emphasis on continuing a foreign language (if they want to quit, then introduce them to another language after 3 years...it's important. Other countries speak multiple, these kids are our future) - Dances: dress code for girls...skirts should be to their knees (Adminstration needs to address) It's getting out of hand. - Guidance counselors...don't even know their name and child is graduating. I'm sure they do a great job, but some kids suffer. So how about a mentor program between older students and younger students Freshman year. - Injuries out on the field (teach kids to respect the other team and get down on knee) - school needs to be prettier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I am a current student in perry hall. I absolutly love it here. I used dread going to school. ever since I started at perry hall I loved school. the teachers focus on their students. Last year we got a new principal who has helped our school so much. I would completely recommend this school to any parent or kid who wants to enroll.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

This is the best High School in Maryland!!! The teachers really helped me a lot. The Math department is extremely excellent in the ways they teach students. Loved the way they are using resource classes for special need students!!! One downfall is its such a great school, that its way overcrowded now. I graduated last year from Perry Hall High and we were the largest graduating class of 2008 in the whole county and in the history of the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

My daughter has Mrs. Cox. What a great teacher! She attends to all children's needs and really helps every child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Phhs is a great school. Because of how large it is, one can pursue and get involved in many different activities. For instance, there are many sports teams, theater/drama/art, and clubs that can interest many. Our music department is the best in the nation. If you want it, you get it; people are too quick to blame teachers or administrators sometimes. Also, as a senior who has been attending this school for four years, i want to clarify a misconception: although the school is overcrowded (by approx 200 kids, since phhs was build for approx. 2100), It doesn't mean you cannot maneuver through the halls. I haven't ever been late due to overcrowding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

PHHS could not have done a better job preparing my daughters for college. My oldest earned an engineering degree, while she says that challenged her, she had a job before graduation and it now pursing her first masters while working full time. My younger daughter said that PHHS actually 'over prepared' her, her words not mine. She said that if anything is hard, that is was high school, hence the Deans List in College semester after semester. If you are willing to learn this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

cons: dangerously overcrowded hallways, the first of 4 lunch periods starts at 10:15am, the administration is not consistant with discipline (the larger problem, however, is bcps) pros: an outstanding staff from the teachers to the custodians and cafeteria, a terrific community, good kids (even the bad ones are pretty good)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2007

great school.....very overcrowded
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

I am a student at PHHS who transferred in from a small private school and entered the AP/GT program. While yes, the school is overcrowded and the trailers are a drag, the quality of my education is excellent. I've had classes in the trailers, and while it might be annoying to have to go outside to get to them, the classrooms are well-equipped with blackboards, televisions, and heating so that learning is not a problem. At PHHS, you get whatever you seek. If you are a hard worker you will get a great education as the teachers are very willing to get involved and help however they can. If you are unmotivated and don't care about school, however, it is easy to get lost in the shuffle. One complaint is that the administration is extremely unorganized and communication among the staff is terrible. However, extracurriculars and other electives are plentiful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

I am a mother of a senior and a freshman so I feel as though I can speak from experience. My senior has done very well at Perry Hall High School and is looking forward to pursuing a degree in the engineering field. My daughter is a freshman and although she doesn't care for school overall, she is enjoying the opportunity to play on a junior varsity sports team at Perry Hall High School. The teachers are terrific and are well educated. The administration is easily approachable. I would recommend this high school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

12-5-05 I am a very intellegent student among many at perry hall high school. In each and every single class that i have had here at perry hall high school, i have learned a moral. This moral is that our teachers are so eager to pass all of their students. Many teachers strive each day to help each student as individuals. Our teachers work so hard in everything that they do. Everday, they come to work. Through thick, and thin.. They are there. If they are sick, they are still prevalant and ready to work. The teachers give us every opportunity to be succesful in life. I have learned to try my best.. Even if my best isn't an a+, i have reached success! I love this school! I feel as if Perry Hall High School is the best school in the entire world!!! go hall!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2005

Im a student in 11th grade and i find the school to be great the croud is not that bad and the new hallway is helpful and u can get to the old wing faster that way. I think perry hall is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2005

Iam currently in the eleventh grade and I think Perry Hall is a great school! The music program is outstanding and there are a wide variety of sports teams and extracurricular clubs and activities. The AP/GT program is excellent and the classes are taght by experienced and dedicated teachers.Though so many people complain about the school being overcrowed, as a student who currently goes there, the crowd is not that big of an issue. I arrive to all my classes on time with relative ease and there is always somewhere to sit at lunch. As for the trailers, they are not the most appealing site, but they provide an adequate learing environment. I would definalelty recomemnd Perry Hall High Shcool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2005

I am a parent with two children, a son and a daughter, who both graduated from PHHS. They were fortunate to be attending in the 1996 to 2002 time frame, when the number of 'portable classrooms' cluttering up the landscape was near a minimum, thanks in part to the major expansion of the new wing. Now, I drive by the school every day and shudder to see the cluster of boxes outside, warehousing students instead of giving them the learning environment that they deserve, and our exorbitant taxes pay for. The Board of Education and the county officials are still 'studying' to see if they think an new high school is needed!!!! Houses are being built all over the Perry Hall/White Marsh area at a phenomenal rate, and people are gravititating to the area en masse, but the PTB aren't sure if we need a new school??? Give me a break!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

The AP classes are excellent! I have 1 son graduated and 1 currently enrolled. They are both AP students. However, it is a CRIME how overcrowed the school is and they build a hallway? My son even said it is a waste. If your child is not focused and mature they can get chewed up and lost in the crowd. I only recommend this school for students who are serious about their education and cannot be lead a stray.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

This school offers many good academic classes but it is simply way overcrowded. Last year, an additional lunch had to be added because the fire marshall came in and noted the lunchs were a fire hazard. This school has way more than the posted 22xx students. It's operating capacity is under 2000 already. No school should have to have TWELVE trailers, and the school's solution is to build a $700,000 hallway.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

541 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Black 20% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Ebenezer Rd
Baltimore, MD 21236
Phone: (410) 887-5108

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Evening High School
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT