Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pikesville High School 1

Posted October 25, 2014
- a community member
This school has very little class options. Mostly none of them are career related like other schools. No health classes (like health science, nursing fundamentals, health team relations..ect), no dance classes, only 2 engineering classes that are at a basic level. Seems like schools have so much more to offer. None of the classes helped in my opinion... The school over all is not bad but some teachers in my opinion DONT care about you...and are rude. I also do not believe our school in one of the "top" in the country. Test score aren't terrible but they aren't good from what I seen. Just average.

Pikesville High School 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a student
I am very upset after reading some of these reviews for Pikesville High. Yes, a few of the teachers are rude and unprofessional, but the school itself is steller. Fights are not frequent,as some would say. They very rarely occur, unless a verble 'fight' is what is being reffered to. Ever since the new principal stepped in there has been a shine on the arts department. Many AP classes are offered, and the staff really helps its students with any and all issues that can come up from family probles, to which colleges to apply to.


Pikesville High School 3

Posted May 18, 2010
- a community member
This school has great potential but the students are either amazing or belong in a juvenile detention center. Academics are great but some teachers dont look like they care. Fights are very frequent, sometimes upwards of 3 a day. The other half though seems to thrive and do extremely well. Office staff is ok. Weighing out the good students over the bad, this is an ok school.

Pikesville High School 5

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pikesville High School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
The school has a very high percentage of students who continue their education at college.


Pikesville High School 2

Posted April 30, 2009
- a student
It can only say it offers so many APs because half of them are online. In English and History, way too many kids are forced into APs, causing the level of the class to go down. The exact opposite phenomena occurs in science and math, with noly a few select eleventh graders ever managing to get into GT physics. The school had a far too small arts program and puts too much emphasis on testing over learning. Its only redeeming quality is its multimedia program.

Pikesville High School 5

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
I am very satisfied with the teachers. They give so much of their time with children that really need extra care. Thank you so much for helping my daughter

Pikesville High School 1

Posted February 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Pikesville High School 3

Posted November 01, 2008
- a student
Pikesville is all in all a mediocre school. Sports teams are OK but not great, clubs are OK but not great, and the same goes for academics and the fine arts. Very few students in the school have the initiative to dedicate themselves to clubs like the Literary Magazine or groups like the Wind Ensemble, and this drives a student like me who is serious about these things nuts.

Pikesville High School 3

Posted July 25, 2008
- a student
I am a junior at PHS. Having completed my sophomore year, I don't think this is the 99th best school in the nation. With a few exceptions (by the way, the 'few exceptions' were truly 'amazing' teachers), many teachers are lazy. I was involved in every AP and GT class possible, but some teachers were very poorly trained and inexperienced with higher level students. In addition, many teachers are leaving the school, making the environment worse. But I guess PHS is ok compared to other schools in Baltimore County.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pikesville High School
7621 Labyrinth Rd, Baltimore, MD  21208
(410) 887-1217
Last modified Pikesville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pikesville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top