Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 488 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

This is our third year at Pine Grove. I could not be happier with the teachers and staff. They go above and beyond what is needed. My daughter was having some problems and the teachers actually took time to contact me at home after school hours, while they were with their own families, to discuss strategies to help her out. I love this school so much that I am putting my own education on hold so my daughter can finish her elementary school here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

I am very impressed with the school and the teacher so far. My son is in Kindergarten and three months in he has learned so much and is excited about learning. They are already reading and writing at a much higher level than expected at this stage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Yes, this is the greatest of the greatest schools in Baltimore County. When the precedent principal - Mr. Weber retired and left school, I thought there would not be another good principal again and I worried about the future of Pine Grove Elementary School. But... the new principal - Mrs. Wilson is a dear friend and sister of moms and a loving grandma of kids! She cares about the kids' performance academically, physically and emotionally. She uses understanding and love to correct kids' behavior if there is any. A lot of young teachers begin to send their own kids into this great school. This is not just a school, it is a community and home for people living in this school district...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

My son is in the 5th grade, his final year at PGE...we'll sure miss this great school. We have had many positive experiences during our six years here. Living i n this neighborhood is great, and what a bonus to have a wonderful school too. We're looking forward to Pine Grove Middle next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

My sons went to Pine Grove Elementary School and now his son attends this wonderful school. As a grandmother, the great standards and accountability are still present. What makes this school superior is the teacher and parent involvement. This school holds students and parents accountable for their success. No excuses. If a child needs help, the child is given help. I love this school and I am so satisfied my grandson will benefit from an excellent education.


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers at Pine Grove Elementary School are the kindest, most caring teachers that go the extra step to encourage, empower, and make the most out of the elementary school experience for the children. PGE places emphasis on the arts when many schools have forgotten the importance of nurturing children's minds through creativity. PGE welcomes diversity and teaches respect and tolerance. PGE demonstrates involvement in community and teaches the importance of helping others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

I love this school. The parents are very involved and the teachers are very accessible. The principal is caring and enthusiastic. The children are expected to do well and are rewarded for their efforts. There are all sorts of after school events to encourage parental involvement. The whole atmosphere has been a positive experience for my two children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Pine Grove Elementary has been a wonderful experience for my son. He is enjoying the academic programs and sharing everything he learns with us. The teachers are wonderful and very encouraging to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

This school is outstanding - parent involvement is almost 100% every year; main events have to be held at a local high school to hold all the parents. The teachers are involved 100% and are outstanding from Pre-K to 5th - this is the best public school I have ever seen and I am thrilled by the results I have seen in both my children - everyone loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I love this school! My son is in K and even though the school year just started, I am impressed. He teacher is a God send, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the Curriculum exceeds other schools. I look foward to many happy years with this staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

This school is wondeful! The teachers really work with the parents to make it a great experience for the children and the children work really hard. Awesome music and art programs and the teachers and everyone are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Black 27% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2701 Summit Ave
Baltimore, MD 21234
Phone: (410) 887-5267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT