Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Grove Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 898 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

PGMS is by far the best middle school ever, one of the teachers apparently dont know how to talk to kids, that is the only reason of why i would not want to go to school, otherwise i love school it is the best the almost all the teachers are the best i have ever had the one teacher who is very rude to the students but omg PGMS is the best school EVER!!!!!!!! -proud student of PGMS


Posted August 9, 2013

My son has a learning disability and the teachers and counselors were great! I currently have 2 children at this school and we have had no problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

I have watched my grandson from the 6th grade become not only a strong person,but a student everyone would be proud of with the help and leadership of outstanding teachers and a challenging academic programs and look forward to the 8th grade THE MATH TEACHERS ARE MY FAR THE BEST I GRANDSON AND MYSELF THANK YOU AND HAVE A WONDERFUL SUMMER


Posted June 14, 2010

Very disappointed with Teachers and Faculty staff. No compasion for children with learning disabilities. The teachers and staff push the blame on parents or students when they are struggling in class. Progress Reports are used as a way to avoid 1:1 teacher/parent concerns. I don't understand why a teacher would wait until a child in failing to raise concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

We are so glad we sent our daughter to PGMS. In 5 grade, we looked at public/private schools and we know w/o doubt, she has received a superior education at PGMS compared to her private school friends. The fabulous faculty and staff are not just dedicated but the best and brightest in Balto. Cnty. They love teaching and it shows. Our daughter went into 6th grade not prepared for the middle school curriculum, but by the second semester she applied herself and, with the support of her teachers, became a success. Now, in 8th grade she is a confident young person, has strong study skills and excels academically. She has never experienced any kind of middle school bullying because the THAT is not tolerated. We have no doubt our daughter will be successful and happy in high school. Thank you PGMS we'll see you in 2 years for our next kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Our school has won many awards. Our teachers are very supportive and open to share ideas. Our students are top notch. It seems our honor roll list grows longer every year. Our principal's door is always open for any discussions. Pine Grove is the best. My son and daughter went here. I volunteered here for six years while I was getting my degree. I have been teaching here for 16 years! I would not want it any other way!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2009

Teachers love what they do and want to be there for the students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2009

Pine Grove is an awesome school because of the dedicated staff and our outstanding students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2009

I've worked there for 7 years, its been my first job and made me fall in love with teaching. Teaching and coaching kids has been a pleasure there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2009

PGMS is an awesome place. Parents, students, and teacher make an enthusiastic learning team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Pine Grove is the greatest! The faculty and staff are great and we have super kids and supportive parents too!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2009

Our daughter just transferred to PGMS, starting the 7th grade this year, and so far our experience and more importantly her experience has been a very positive one. All the teachers did an outstanding job at back to school night. We are quite pleased with our decision to transfer here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school was pretty okay. The building is horrible and has no windows, thus imitating a jail, but it wasn't absolutely horrible. Teachers were a bit useless at times but a select few were great. Its a very bland school. Wouldn't recommend it, but i can't hate it either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2008

i think pine grove was an awesome school. teachers are very willing to work with you and are really helpful. all around quality education for all
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2004

I jst graduated from this school this 2003-2004 school year. I really enjoyed it so much. I made lots of friends and the teachers were really nice. I would have to say 8th grade was the best. We had a lock-in which was really awesome. Also, their are lots of things to do like SCAT night and field trips. I really liked how you could be yourself and students would take you for who you are. I would like to thank all my teachers who helped me get through these 3 years. I will miss this school very much! Mrs. Martz (maiden name) I miss you, you were my favorite science teacher ever. Wish me luck in the future! Thanks again for everything.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2003

Great School, staff and teachers are always willing to provide services to help your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

Pine Grove is a great school, however, when children are failing they do not offer parents programs to enroll students so that they can achieve. Teachers do call home to alert parents, but the follow through is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

297 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

310 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Black 31% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9200 Old Harford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21234
Phone: (410) 887-5270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Ursula School
Parkville, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT