Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
400 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The New Century School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a community member
Our son just started his fourth year at TNCS. We love this school so much we are going to be sending our younger kids there as soon as they are of age to do so. The teachers and administration are all very caring, helpful, and constantly thinking of new and more ways to improve. We've seen our son flourish at TNCS and develop great friendships with classmates and teachers alike. The combination of two foreign languages (taught by native speakers), Montessori approach, and reasonable cost are exceedingly hard to find. TNCS also does a great job of getting parents/families involved. We considered several schools and researched many more, but fell in love with TNCS when we made our first visit.

The New Century School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
The teachers range from fantastic to really inept. Unfortunately, this is likely the product of high turnover related to poor administration and overly involved "founders."


The New Century School 3

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
We love the school and find it to be a warm and excellent learning environment for our toddler. The teachers are well trained and very involved with the needs of the children. The school administration however is often disorganized in the handling of registration documents. Also the school guidelines and policies are not very transparent.

The New Century School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
The New Century School is a top private school in Baltimore. At $11,500 a year consider how valuable it is to have your child in a great urban school preparing them for the global challenge.

The New Century School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school. Our child has completed three years here and our family has made long term plans to remain at the school. The Montessori approach has allowed our daughter to springboard her early skills. The level of quality speaks to the growing enrollment and how each year the school makes innovative decisions. Not one family I know has ever believed that there is a better school choice for pre-k and elementary. Of the families that have left, the primary reason is to avoid private school tuition. It is an investment to have your child nurtured in small classes with Chinese and Spanish language lesson immersion! This school upholds good child behavior to the highest standard. The head of school is almost always at the door to greet. The staff is accountable and accessible. The school is a cornerstone to Fells Point families and to advancing education beyond the status quo.


The New Century School 1

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
I applied for my son to attend this school. I never received notification of whether or not he was accepted. I made repeated attempts to ask about the status of his application, and received no reply. My interaction with the admissions representative prior to applying also did not feel professional. I was told the principal would be in touch with me, and this never happened. I did not receive a good vibe from this school due to this experience. Another concern I had: after age 2-3, the language immersion program ends, and the kids only receive a language class daily, rather than having the immersion experience. I have doubts this would lead to fluency, which I think should be the goal of a truly bilingual program.

The New Century School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
My son attends The New Century School and we love it. Very loving, nurturing environment. It has things you just don't find at other schools: 1) Organic, vegetarian, homemade lunch program. Now, we are not vegetarians at home, but the school food is nutritious and low in sugar. 2) Language immersion. Spanish and Chinese are offered from 2-3 years old, with both languages being taught on alternating days in the primary and upper school. 3) Accessible staff, teachers and administrators. Always have had questions answered and individual solutions worked out for my child when necessary. Art, music, movement, and positive virtues instilled as part of the everyday curriculum.

The New Century School 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a community member
Checked out the websute when searching for schools. Too many questions not adressed. Would be concerned about lack of any accredidtion with any private school accrediting body such as AIMS. Also, a little dissapointing that there are no teacher/staff/management profiles on the website as is standard at most all other credible private schools. Makes you question credentials of those tecaching and managing the school. A good feeder school needs to be part of the educational community and found none of that on the website.


The New Century School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
New Century is a very nurturing environment combining Montessori principles with language immersion learning opportunities in Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. The Fells Point setting also provides great learning opportunities in the heart of the city. My daughter can develop her language skills and a broader cultural understanding while also developing independence, and concentration skills. She loves learning in the greenhouse, loves her music and art classes, and she loves her teachers and friends!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The New Century School
724 S Ann St, Baltimore, MD  21231
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (410) 929-4116
Last modified The New Century School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top