Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Relay Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2014

AMAZING place to send your children!!!! The teachers are caring and the work is challenging. I love the new principal ( i think this is her second year) She always stands in the front lobby to greet the children. I stand outside before school everyday and she claps and the children repeat the clap. She then says,"Good morning boys and girls!" and the children reply. I can tell that she truly loves children. She also says good morning to all the parents outside as well. When I didn't understand the new curriculum she called me back the same day. We met in her office and she heled me as a parent. LOVE it here!! You can tell that the teachers for the most part are the same. Most of them will greet the children with a smile and you can tell that they really get to know the children
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2014

My son is in Kindergarten at Relay and I absolutely love this school. His teacher is amazing and the administration is very responsive. Our only concern is being stuck in the Lansdowne High School zone as it is a disaster of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I'm very much dissatisfied with teachers interaction with kids,especially 5th grade teachers.They are very irresponsible.And there is lot of discrimination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

I recently moved into the area from Howard County schools. I was shocked by the difference in approach and the academic rigor at Relay ES. This school helped my son flourish academically without all of the other nonsense. I would recommend this school over any Howard County elementary school. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Overall this is a wonderful school...all the teachers seen to get to know the children (even those not in their class). My daughter has been here since 1st grade and is now in 4th. The front office both seem to have an attitiude. The Principal changed this school year and I haven't experienced any problems with her although I've overheard other parents complain. The school seems to host all demographics teaches good values and equality to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

My dauther loves her teacher. Front office needs improvement. Leadership shows disliked of other races.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My son is in 3rd at Relay elementary school. I believe everyone needs to know how wonderful this school really is. The communication between the teachers, guidance counsler, nurse, principal, and parents is fantastic. You can tell exactly how much they care about their students. We are beyond pleased with Relay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

I'm a candidate parent. The school's rating is outstanding (top 10) on test score for recent years. I found from public report, (such as schooldigger.com or psk12.com) the testing scores were in the mid range before 2007. Can any Relay parent or school teacher explain to me, what makes this dramatic change? Anything fundamental? Got to be something.


Posted December 11, 2008

My daughter started at Relay Elementary in the first grade -- she is currently in fourth grade -- and had a hard transition b/c of our moving and all the upheaval that comes with moving. The teachers and guidance counselor were phenomenal in helping her through this transition. In the 3rd grade, I was concerned about her struggling with reading (she was reading on grade level, but struggling through). I raised this concern with her teacher and within 24 hours was in a meeting with the Vice Principal, homeroom and math teachers and the reading specialist. They were able to offer small interventions which have made a huge impact on her reading and started her in them right away! I cannot say enough wonderful things about how caring and supportive the faculty and staff are at Relay Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My daughter has only been at Relay for two years, but she has grown and flourished during her time there. The principals are kind, warm, and involved. Same goes for the teachers she has had so far. The nurse is very kind and helpful. The school events (music, STEM fair, etc) are well-organized. Gr Great job, Rea
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Relay is a great school. The teachers take the time with parents and with the children. The principal and vice principal really care about the kids. My children have blossomed at Relay.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Black 15% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5885 Selford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21227
Phone: (410) 887-1426

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Academy
Halethorpe, MD



Lamb of God School
Arbutus, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT