Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cromwell Valley Elementary Technology

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2009

A great school to work in, where students, parents and staff work together to help all students reach their fullest potential. It is truly amazing the opportunities the students have, from being a part of the morning CVE news broadcast, to completing multimedia projects that many adults have never had the opportunity to do. As the graduates sing every year at their farewell assembly, 'CROMWELL VALLEY IS THE BEST!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

There are no words to accurately portray all of the amazing things about Cromwell Elementary. From the moment you enter the building with the warm and welcoming office staff to the brightly colored, art covered walls and the smiles of the children in the hallways....you know you are in a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Great school community; attentive teachers, super involved PTA; committed administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

This school integrates technology into all areas of study. My son uses the computer as second nature, and he's only 8. He has real-life skills he can use to express his thoughts and ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I feel my children are getting a wonderful education. The teachers at Cromwell do a great job of teaching the basics and the school has an excellent technology program. My children knew Power Point in second grade. In general, the students are well-behaved and there is a great deal of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Cromwell Valley Elementary has wonderful teachers, state-of-the-art technology, talented students, and highly-involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

CVE is top notch! My kids have been at the school for 4 years so far and I am so impressed with the resources, staff, teachers, parent support and school spirit. We love CVE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

It is our first year at this school and we are thrilled! my sons teacher loves his job and it shows. I look forward to our next year at CVE. There is always something fun going on and this makes learning a JOY for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

This is our first year at CVE and we were welcomed with open arms by everyone!! I had heard good things about Cromwell but so far, it is SO much better than I could have ever imagined!! Thanks to all!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

CVE is a wonderful school, with an excellent teaching staff and a great technology program. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

My son and two nieces have attended Cromwell and their overall learning capabilities are excellent. It is truly a great school. The only downfall is the sibling rule. My oldest son has been wait listed for two years. I didn't know how difficult it is to get my oldest son into this school with a younger sibling already attending. I strongly urge this rule to change for moms with muliple children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

This is my child's third year at Cromwell, and it has been an exceptional experience from the very beginning. The teachers and staff are committed to excellence and caring with the students and parents. The quality of education at CVE is what parents would expect of a private school. It's evident that the teachers at Cromwell really love what they do. Each one that we've had has had a tremendously positive impact on our child's learning experience. My child loves going to school, and it's a direct result of such an exceptional staff of educators. We are so fortunate to have a child attending this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

My child transferred into Cromwell Valley Elementary this year in the 4th grade from a private Catholic school program. She was welcomed by ALL with arms open! She is a completely different student- more confident and happier. The teachers care about every aspect of these childrens lives. I get emails back and forth from her teachers about progress. We have gone through private schooling and now this school and I couldn't pay enough for the quality of role models that she is exposed to daily and the amazing education she is receiving! THANK YOU TO ALL AT CVE YOUR AMAZING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

Overall it is a great school my daughter goes there it is great you can get help from teachers. It is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2006

I absolutely love Cromwell Valley and have found the teachers to be just wonderful. The principle & vice principle are always greeting students and parents and there is a very well executed and safe dismissal order in the school that is excellent. The technology program is very impressive. My first grader was learning Power Point! Both of my children have had wonderful teachers for two years and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My child is now in grade 5 and has been at Cromwell since kindergarten. I have nothing but praise for the teachers and staff. It will be difficult to say goodbye to such a wonderful environment at the end of this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had children at four schools in the Baltimore Area for over 12 years and find CVE to be an excellent facility. I feel very blessed to have a child in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 Providence Rd
Baltimore, MD 21286
Phone: (410) 887-4888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT