Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cromwell Valley Elementary Technology

Public | K-5 | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2009

The Special Area teachers are absolutely the best in their field!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I am very impressed with the quality of education the students receive under the impressive leadership of the principal and teachers, as well as.the spirit of community that is expressed through their artistic endeavors!


Posted October 26, 2009

We are on the forefront of technology integration creating lifelong tech learners but we need to keep up with the rapidly changing technologies available.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2009

Cromwell Valley Elementary provides a great education in a loving and fun way. The staff is wonderful and is supported by fantastic parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

CVE gives young kids a great start with the foundations, particularly computers, that they need to prepare for for middle school and high school. The school also really involves the entire family in our children's experience. CVE is a great fit for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

The kids are constantly engaged and love using all the technology we provide! We have a wonderful staff, supportive parents and successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

My kids have great teachers, fantastic opportunities, a dedicated staff, and parents that are involved and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Great team that is working hard to make a difference!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2009

Cromwell Valley Elementary School offers tremendous leadership, engaged teachers, wonderful parent volunteerism, and the kids come ready to learn - these are all the makings of a successful school. A true community school that works hard on every level to achieve academic successs for all students and support for families. We feel fortunate to have our child at Cromwell - what a gift!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Cromwell Valley is the best! The parents, teachers and staff are dedicated to the achievement, success, and development of our students. Everyone works together to meet the needs of each individual child. The students are engaged daily and technology is integrated into everything we do!


Posted October 26, 2009

The technology program is great. I'm amazed at the computer skills my second grader has aquired. The teachers are friendly and supportive towards the students and make learning fun. My daughter loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

I have eight children which have attened nine different schools. My two youngest attend CVES. You would not believe the comparison between Cromwell and the other schools. You can really tell the principals and the teachers care about our children. It matters to them if our kids aren't catching on and they do something about it. I have never seen parent involvement at any of the other schools like I have at Cromwell. And this is why I brag about CROMWELL VALLEY ELEMENTARY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

The students take pride in their learning at Cromwell Valley. The students are motivated through the use of technology and the teachers are willing to try new technologies and take risks. The CVE T.V. studio crew is awesome! Every CVE student gets a chance to take part in the daily morning announcement broadcast.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2009

Cromwell is a wonderful learning environment. The staff and parents are supportive and it shows in how excited the children are about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Our students integrate learning and technology on a daily basis. Students plan and conduct morning announcements on television each week. They can use a variety of software and complete multimedia projects with little help from adults.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2009

Excellent faculty, involved families, and wonderful kids make it the best school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Very supportive of my kindergarten daughter as she has transitioned into school- the best teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

I love it for the teachers, administration, students, and PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Cromwell Valley ES has a dedicated staff, enthusiastic learners, and integrates technology in a meaningful way. Students talents are showcased and special area teachers provide a wonderful balance of the arts and technology. It is a wonderful learning environment, and the children are growing as learners. The parents are involved and there is a great support staff, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

We have one of the best PTA and teachers. We have a variety of program for the students that are all ran by volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 Providence Rd
Baltimore, MD 21286
Phone: (410) 887-4888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT