Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverview Elementary School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
It is a step up from city, teachers are great. Only problem I see is with the lack of parent involvement and zero effort by anyone to form a PTA. I would love to see more activities and clubs for the kids.

Riverview Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Im grateful for Mrs.Winans...a wonderful 1st grade teacher! She deserves a special thanks for all her effort and going the extra mile!


Riverview Elementary School 4

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I brought my child here from Baltimore City schools, so it has definitely been an upgrade. I have been impressed with his teachers, and how quickly they got him caught up.

Riverview Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a good school. My children love it and the staff and teachers are evry committed to helping not just the children but also the community.

Riverview Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
Riverview Elementary School is not what I'd expect it to be for an Elementary school.. The teachers (most of them) really do not care about the children.. They talk down to and belittle the children in comparison to prior classes and even their own children.. The staff (again with the exception of a few) truly show no empathy for working with the younger group of children.. It's disheartening to actually be writing a "not so good" review about the school my own children attend, but SOMETHING needs to drastically change here at this place.. Maybe a whole new Fresh Start.. If that would even give this place a glimpse of hope for these children in this area that'd be the best.. I don't think this school even deserves a 2 out of 10 review.. I'm sorry but until there is some REAL amazing difference here I am going to have to stick with this opinion..


Riverview Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I'm new to the county schools but I love them this is my daughters 2yr at Riverview and she loves it.

Riverview Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
This school is turning around! High expectations for behavior and for learning. New attitude. New administration.

Riverview Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 daughter's that attend this school and it is the best school I could have chose for them. One is in 3rd grade and one is in 5th grade. The teacher's are 100% supportive and helpful!


Riverview Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This is a failing school in a troubled neighborhood. Student discipline is an issue, as well as permanent teacher shortages.

Riverview Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Unfortunately, I cannot give this school a high rating. I had a son in 5th and I worked in the school. The teacher staff is predominately young, willing to do new things, but they labor under several negatives. A low income neighborhood with a small minority of involved parents. The administration is overwhelmed with the behavioral issues of some of the students. As a result, when my son began to have educational problems due to health reasons, we were not accommodated at all. Everyone assumed that he was just another child who needed to 'try harder and apply himself. ' They were very jaded. The year ended on a negative note for both my son and I, and I was very happy he was moving on. On a positive note, I am going back to educate them on my son's medical issues, so another child will not suffer like we did.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverview Elementary School
3298 Kessler Rd, Baltimore, MD  21227
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (410) 887-1428
Last modified Riverview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top