Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandalwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Fighting and cussing outside. Bullying. Kids running into the streets blocking traffic. Mass chaos at dismissal!!

Sandalwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Bullies are protected and left in class while victums are removed and lose class time.


Sandalwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Do not address bullying and deny there is an issue. Lie on school papers saying bullying was never brought to their attention after havent multiple meetings addressing the issue. Not a safe environment.

Sandalwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
There is a huge bullying problem, and the staff brushes it off because they cant discipline the "disadvantaged children" who have no home training. Oh and contact the County and the staff suddenly is having meetings without the parent fabricating and denying that issues were brought to their attention. Academically the bar is kept low and if you child is im any way advanced they will be bored.

Sandalwood Elementary School 1

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
I went to pick my child up from morning pre school and as you would expect teachers are out on side of the school with the children but did u know instead of the teachers watching your children the teachers are on their phones texting and such how is this the right way for our children to learn and to have trust in our teachers that we think are there to watch our children and protect them the principal of sandalwood elementary school in Essex needs to stop smiling and do something about these issues lets not even start on the after school fights that happen every other day


Sandalwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Sandalwood is an great school with great teachers. If I have a question, they respond immediately. They are geared to guide and help all students.

Sandalwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE Sandalwood the teacher care about the children ..my kids went to this school for 4 years and they got transferred cause we moved n i hate there new school .. im thinking about moving back so that my other kids can go LOVE LOVE LOVE sandalwood elem

Sandalwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
Awesome, Awesome Awesome!!...My children are very well educated at Sandalwood Elementary School. They are very attentive to the students. My son is now in the 5th grade (7th year at the school, k-4 to 5th). He is ranked among the top students across Maryland academically. He is in GT and will go to Deep Creak Middle School in 2011-12. He will be placed in the Magnet program there. The foundation was definitely Sandalwood! My daughter is in the 2nd grade and excels there as well. If you look hard enough you will find fault with anything...or anyone. (I personally think the negative reviews come from uninvolved parents or students who may be unruly to begin with) This school is as good as any and I'm PROUD to say my children go to this school ! You will not regret sending your child here.


Sandalwood Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a community member
I go to Sandalwood Elementary School and I believe that it is a very bad school!! I have gone here in since before kindergarten and am in 5th grade now! 7 years! The learning is not on my learning level and I feel that I need to go to a better school! When I was in first grade My teacher was very mean to me and I will stick with the mean words she said to me all my life! I think they should hire better teachers or all children sould transfer to other schools! The best grade is the grade that I am in, 5th grade, because of the (finally) challenging work and nice, affective, fun teachers! To me, and a lot of children my first teacher was the best.Thank you for Listening! Student

Sandalwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the parent who posted on March 30, 2009. My son attended Sandalwood from pre-k to grade 3 and never had spelling words. When I asked his 3rd grade teacher about it she said they don't do spelling in her class. I was never happy with the learning material at Sandalwood and felt I needed to teach him so much more at home as a parent. Luckily we have transfered to private school and he is getting proper education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandalwood Elementary School
900 South Marlyn Ave, Baltimore, MD  21221
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (410) 887-0174
Last modified Sandalwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top