Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scotts Branch Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 554 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Really don't like the school or the staff the. Principle is lazy does want to do anything a teacher grab my son and they tried to hide the incident! Not happy with the school at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I am very pleased with the academic progress my granddaughter has made during this school year. Enhancing her extra curriculum activities was a plus to encourage her to do her best so that she could recieve the rewards.


Posted May 1, 2013

I found the school to be a breath of fresh air. All teachers and office staff I encountered were great. My son was shy at first but within a few days he felt the school was great also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

My child is a 5th grade student, and this has been his best experience yet. This year there are more teachers that match the school make-up. And, ALL staff have been very warm. I really like the front office staff. And, when I call or email the teacher, my son's teacher quickly returns my call or email. I LOVE IT! There were a few bus problems in August, but the AP and Principal were right on it. I think the other comments posted do not really talk fairly about the school. I recommend you visit the school and you will see it is a great place for places. I do not want my son to go to middle school yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

my children (3) of them and myself love scotts branch. it has a very warm environment unlike the school they came from Glyndon!!!!!! Love the principle, office staff and teachers. you go Ms. Bennett
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Had a bad experience with the principal. If you are parent worried about your child being bullied this is not the school for you. Now the teachers are ok they do what ever they can do to help you but the principal wasn't any help. She told me its nothing she could do about my child being bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

the teachers are nnice and soo is the assissant princeapal, but the princeapal ms.bennett can be not my ideal princepal... my son was picked on on bus and was slapped in face. i went up to school around 4, and she had anattuide whe n i reported it, then my son said the e boy was touching him so he asked him to stop and thenn boy smacked him... then her response was well if u were turned around in seat facin forward he wouldny of smacked u, honestly thats not true because boy was touching him so either way my son was being harrased for 2 years straight that boy picked on my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

There is nothing great about this school except for the Students and Teachers. Unfortunately, the administration, mainly the principal has no care or concern for the staff or well being of the students. MS Bennett does not care about discipline. She puts down students and teachers in front of parents and other students. She has displayed a non professional attitude when approached. If Ms. Bennet was not part of this school it would be a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My son loves his school and teachers. The teachers really care about their students and are very concerned mainly about the reading and math skills. It's a shame this is just an elementary school, because it would also be great as a middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

The administrators and staff of Scotts Branch Elementary go above and beyond for their students. It's a warm, welcoming atmosphere where students are challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

My daughter has been attending Scotts Branch since Kindergarten, and loves it! I have a great relationship with the staff, which is highly trained and truly care for the students. We now attend on special transfer, but would not choose to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

The teachers ar Scotts Branch are truly the most caring I've ever met. My daughter had the greatest experience there and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 35%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8220 Tawnmoore Rd
Baltimore, MD 21207
Phone: (410) 887-0761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rock Junior Academy
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT