Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stoneleigh Elementary School 1

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
The current principal, Heather Hollenbeck, does not truly care about the students. In every interaction I had with her this year she unprofessional, rude and condescending. When I tried to voice concerns, she did nothing to help or address them. The school is riding on their reputation and as other reviewer's have said, it would be difficult for the students to not be successful because the parents are so involved. The school just maintains the status quo. Aside from a few teachers such as Ms. Lane (4th grade teacher), the staff does not go above and beyond to challenge and excite learning. There are a lot of worksheets being passed out. Students are not taught how to think.

Stoneleigh Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Lane is exceptional teacher who challenges students and is invested in them as people as well!


Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My son just finished his second year at Stoneleigh, and I couldn't be happier with the quality of education he has received. The teachers do an excellent job of communicating both issues and acheivements, and are quick to respond to inquiries via email. Another great aspect is the high level of parental involvement with the school. So lucky to be part of the Stoneleigh community!

Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children currently enrolled at Stoneleigh, and I am thrilled at the attention and quality of the education they receive. I find the Principal to be knowledgeable and extremely helpful. She runs a tight ship but she has a great deal of children to educate and protect. One of the aspects I love about Stoneleigh is the strong parental involvement and active PTA.

Stoneleigh Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
Any school with the demographics of this school would do well on standardized testing and school work. Because of parental involvement the school is a success. The principal is more concerned about county politics and how the school appears rather than actual students. She is a snob and turned down involvement of certain volunteers because of how they look or how artsy they are. The teachers are nice but have a pretty easy job considering how active the parents are in their children's education. It is definitely geared more toward how girls learn rather than boys. If I had to do it all over again, I would not have sent my children there.


Stoneleigh Elementary School 2

Posted January 04, 2012
- a community member
I was a student here, thus I can give a good insiders view of the school. Yes, the academics are great, with great teachers. However, when it comes to the students and the social situations, there is a problem. I am 17 now so I don't know how it is now, but when I attended Stoneleigh, there were developed cliques by the time I was in 2nd or 3rd grade. The majority of the kids were white, upper middle to upper class. So if you are not of those standards, life may not be very easy for your child. I was bullied every single day to the point of banishment and tears due to my appearance of glasses, voluminous frizzy hair, weight, and lack of athleticism. And the teachers did NOTHING about it. From an extremely young age, the kids at Stoneleigh are expected by their peers to dress in expensive clothing, be thin, listen to particular music, watch particular shows, own certain things, and act a certain way. Call me old fashioned, but I don't think that is quite right. I would never send my child there, not if it was the last place on Earth.

Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
I'm very pleased with Stoneleigh, and I have two daughters who currently attend. The principal is utterly committed and professional, yet truly cares about the success of each child. When my child went through serious academic and emotional problems last year, the administration went above and beyond in accommodating her needs and ensuring she was both successful with and happy in her education. Yes, there are a lot of children here, but every new family I meet is another participant in the amazingly involved parents at this school. We moved here from another Baltimore County school, so glad that we did.

Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2010
- a community member
Stoneleigh is a great schoo to start your learning journey at. I attended this school and I now attend Dumbarton Middle School. I can not begin to explain how much Stoneleigh has helped my education. The teachers also care about their students and make learning fun.


Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
My son is in forth grade and he loves to go to school. All his teachers are very nice.

Stoneleigh Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2009
- a parent
My daughter loves going to school and is learning so much. We are thrilled with Stoneleigh.

Nearby schools

Stoneleigh Elementary School
900 Pemberton Rd, Baltimore, MD  21212
(410) 887-3600
Last modified Stoneleigh Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top