Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Both my children attend Sparrows Point Middle school,. My son is finishing 8th grade and my daughter 6th. Their teachers have been supportive, challenging, fun and encouraging. To see such high standards of care and commitment to the students (and community) has been comforting during a time that can be a difficult transition for our kids. Love SPMS and how successful my kids have been here!

Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My son is finishing 6th grade here and the transition from elementary school has been very smooth. The staff does a wonderful job communicating with parents through BCPSone and email. The one to one devices for 6th grade have provided some fantastic learning opportunities for the students.


Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My son is in 8th grade and has blossomed at Sparrows Point Middle. He has been challenged, encouraged, and held to a high standard. The teachers demonstrate an understanding of the community and genuinely care about the students. Love this school!

Sparrows Point Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Wedmore really held the students to a high standard and was very clear about that form the beginning. My son learned so much form her! Thank you!

Sparrows Point Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My son was part of the tolerance team that worked together to promote compassion and empathy in the building. It is a middle school so these qualities are tough to get through to students.


Sparrows Point Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Mr Swain brings out the best in his music classes and the winter and spring concert is always successful.

Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
I am very satisfied with the school. My eldest attended and excelled. My youngest struggles a bit more with school and the teachers are always willing to assist and do what ever it takes to motivate him to excel. It is a very small school with very little problems.

Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
I think it is a great school! *Mr. Sacks And Ms. Kawla RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are the best teachers ever. They make this school awesome.


Sparrows Point Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
I am very satisfied with this school. My son is in 8th grade. When his grades started to slip I was notified immediately. His teachers have been wonderful in helping to bring his grades up. We communicate constantly through email. The administration is great and they do not put up with violence.

Sparrows Point Middle School 1

Posted November 15, 2008
- a parent
My son attended 7th grade at SPMS. He had such a terrible experience there I pulled him out and sent him back to his previous middle school for 8th grade. When he defended himself he got suspended and the Administrators did very little to help. His grades were terrible and he almost failed for the year. I have another child who will be attending this school in a few years and I hope by then they will have improved in all areas.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sparrows Point Middle School
7400 North Point Rd, Baltimore, MD  21219
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (410) 887-7524
Last modified Sparrows Point Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top