Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodmoor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 525 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2011

My daughter graduated from woodmoor just last year and my son still currently attends. I am very appreciative of the dedication and hard work the staff at woodmoor shows. The principle is always available to assist and always has a smile. The teachers that I have been in contact with are always willing to help the students succeed. Both of my children have had a very successful educational experience at woodmoor and I am thankful for the care and consideration that the staff show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

As a parent, I love Woodmoor Elementary School. The principal is excellent. She is always visible. She is welcoming to parents The staff at Woodmoor informs parents when their is a concern. The teachers really differentiated the instruction for my child. I am very appreciative. I think Woodmoor should be rated very high. Check out the improved scores were as other school stay the same. I am a proud parent of Woodmoor Elementary School. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My daughter graduated from this school in the summer of 2009. She was guided and encouraged to reach for the stars. She is currently in one of the best Private schools in Baltimore, MD. The principal is always available and assesible to all. She has a ready smile and is a wealth of encouragement and support to the parents. They have a fantastic social worker. The teachers are very helpful.The whole teaching staff push, support and encourage the children to aim higher than average.They empower the kids. Take a bow Woodmoor!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I have 4 sons 2 whom have graduated from Woodmoor and 2 who are presently enrolled. The teachers are very active with the growth and development of the children. I recommend my peers when looking for a home to consider this area JUST for the education I know there children will receive @ Woodmoor. The principal is very active and can always be found available for the children, parents, and teachers. Woodmoor is a very helpful tool to prepare our youth for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Woodmoor Elementary School provides the students with an after school program with transportation which is wonderful. They also have a program entitled, 'Get the Message' to help the students. The staff is very caring. The principal is very visible and is actively involved with the school. Thank you for the extra caring and providing quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

I spent the last 6 years teaching at Woodmoor and can appreciate the positive and negative comments made by others on this site. It is true that this community is challenging. Many weeks we would come back to school to inventory the vandalism that had occurred over the weekend. There are definitely those families that are difficult to deal with, like in any school, but I found that the staff tried to look beyond any troubles there were to provide the best educational experiences. Yes, the workload, piled on by Superintendents that are out of touch with the true needs of the students, was overwhelming. However, the staff worked together to achieve, year after year - just look at the increase in MSA scores over the past few years. I am sorry to be moving away and leaving a group of such dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 26, 2006

As a parent who is at the school volunteering on a regular basis, I can say confidently that the teachers and administration at this school are doing all that is in their own power to help the students at a school where the majority of the students and parents do not care about education. The workload is far too much & unrealistic for the teachers. The counties academic expectations are way above what most of these kids can handle. If more parents were to come in to see what their children are doing and how they are performing, they would see that the blame should not go on the teachers or administration. Education is simply undervalued in this area. What this school needs is more parent involvement, smaller class sizes, and the ability to dismiss the students who are hindering the success of those who are there to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

There are only a few teachers at Woodmoor that I would consider competent. Woodmoor is the only place I know where involved parents are left out in the dark about their childrens progress or lack of when a parent specifically requests to be informed. There are a lack of learning materials, teacher concern, and common sense
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

My son has been at this school since the kindergarden and he's now in the 5th grade. My child has always received A's and B's and the teachers are extremely helpful. I can say that on the occasion that I wanted to speak with the principal she did not return my calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

This school, which was at one time on the road to academic recovery, lost its principal, vice-principal, and nine key classroom educators all within the space of a year and a half. They were discouraged with the quality of support from the community, the county, and the state of Maryland and moved on to better jobs. In response, the county replaced these people with two administrators with absolutely no experience, concern for staff or students, or epertise in the education profession. The teachers were replaced with the first warm bodies that didn't refuse to come to this school. All in all, MSPAP scores dropped from a high of 42% satisfactory to less than 10% satisfactory in the space of two years. It is this writers opinion that the county and th state should close this school and put these students in a city school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 35%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Elba Dr
Baltimore, MD 21207
Phone: (410) 887-1318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT