Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Old Court Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 571 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2013

Old court middle school is a great school and I am proud to go there as an eighth-grader this year. Our marching band is the only middle school Marching band in the county. We have a great music program We have jazz band , concert band , marching band , and a wind ensemble. Don't listen to what people say we are a great school I am a proud student thank you. See you all this year . #8thgrade #lastyear #turnupp


Posted April 18, 2011

I AM A PARENT AT OLD COURT I HAVE BEEN THERE FOR THREE YEARS, IN THAT TIME THINGS HAVE IMPROVED GREATLY. IT IS A HANDFUL OF OLD BAD EGGS THAT THEY NEED TO REPLACE. BUT THE ADMINISTRATION THIS YEAR IS THE BEST! THEY DO MULTIPLE THINGS TO KEEP PARENTS IN THE LOOP, ON-LINE GRADES, MASS PHONE MESSAGES, NEWSLETTERS. YOU HAVE TOO MANY ABSENT PARENTS FROM THE SCHOOL. THE SCHOOL LACKS IN PARENT PARTICIPATION AND PARENT RELATIONSHIPS. KIDS ARE LESS LIKELY TO ACT OUT WHEN YOU HAVE PARENTS OR A FRIEND OF A PARENT, PRESENT IN THE SCHOOL. WHEN YOU RATE A SCHOOL YOU HAVE TO FIRST LOOK AT THE PARENTS...ARE THEY CONCERNED ABOUT EDUCATION OR HAVING CHILDCARE FOR THOSE 7 HOURS. IT IS HARD TO GET THE PARENTS TO SIGN-UP FOR P.T.A., SCHOOL EVENTS, COME TO MEETINGS OR PARENT CONFERENCES. IF WE AS PARENTS ARE MORE INVOLVED WE CAN HELP BUILD A STRONGER SCHOOL BUT INSTEAD PEOPLE POINT FINGERS AND BLAME THE SCHOOL. FOR THE FIRST YEAR I CAN STAND UP PROUD AND SAY NO IT'S NOT THE SCHOOL, IT IS UNINVOLVED PARENT. KUDOS TO THE PARENTS AND STAFF THAT REALLY CARE AT OLD COURT. DRIVE DOWN THERE ONE EVENING AND YOU WILL SEE STAFF STILL THERE, THAT SAY'S A LOT ABOUT HOW COMMITTED THEY ARE TO MAKING A CHANGE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I substitute at OCMS and would love to become a teacher there. Yes, it's a tough school, however, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They care about the students and don't take any "foolishness". I find the students to be very respectful. I think the administration and teachers are really working to improve the school. Whenever I am called to substitute, I am very happy to accept.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

It is a good school. The curriculum seems good. They need more of a one on one with children with ADHD or other learning disablilties.


Posted February 17, 2010

I think this is probably one of the worst schools in Baltimore County!!! The schoold administration is pretty good. However, the have a horrible team of teachers representing their schools and teaching our kids. You have a few that are old school and really care about the kids. However, I have found that many are their just for the pay check and JUST DON'T CARE!!! or you have the ones that your kids may recieve a good grade but are the really learning?? The Students are horrible and their is so much gang related activity it is sad. I think they need to do a better job o hiring well trained teachers because they have some sorry teachers and then the sad things is that may be the only teacher teaching a particular subject in your child's grade level. This becomes frustrating !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

this school is the best wether people like it or not it's like any other middle school in blatimore county the kids are great and teacher are cool if u dont cause trouble nothing will happen.


Posted May 22, 2009

I really dont like attending this school. The kids are mean, the school work is horable, and those teachers sometimes dont do their jobs right. I just wish i would have gotten into Sudbrook
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

This school go hard. The teachers and pricipals are so cool. You should bring your child here! The students get thier work done and no interuptions ever! We have the best trips and activities in the county. So you know what to do!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I dont know where to start. Unfortunately my experience with OCMS have not been positive; however, I do believe the Administrators and Teachers are doing a great job! I absolutely appreciate and enjoy the enthusiasm the teachers have and their teaching styles. It's really refreshing. Now my problem. The students; hence the parents. Please dont complain about school if you are not tending to your children! I have hear language come out of the students mouths that I wouldn't dare to say even as an adult. Just the other day, my son who just entered the 6th came home and told me he was asked by another student if he was in a gang. Needless to say he never wants to wear red to school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

i like going to this school. it gives alot of trips and it i really concerned about their kids
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

it's a great school for me!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

Parent involvement is fair. The quality of the academics is far behind adjacent school districts. The only extracurricular program offered to my child was YuGiOh club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

After reading all these parent reviews I believe that all their points are proven wrong because presently I am a 7th grade old court middle school pupil and I have seen many changes. We have better staff, students and mostly less violence and currently there are renovations being done to improve the school. So to all parents I urge you all not to withdraw your kids from OCMS all you have to do is give it a chance...a very big one -Afees Abolurin OCMS STUDENT 07
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2006

This school deserves support. The school is improving and will keep improving. There is no such thing as a perfect school. Every school has it's violence. You could go to any school and see the same thing you see at Old Court. I am a former student and I believe this school is very good. The discipline has made a big turn around with new rules and regalations.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 7, 2006

I think Old Court isn't the best school, but it certainly has improved. The principal, Dr.Woodley, is doing an excellent job trying to change the school for the better. There are new rules and regulations being enforced in the school and the test scores are improving. If parents have such a huge problem with Old Court, then they should remove their child from the school, home school them, or join the PTA and give money to help fix this so called 'horrible' school. I bet the ones complaining aren't doing anything to help.-LaBreea Hargrove 8th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2005

I think this is a horrible school for any child to go to. I've been trying to remove my child from this school since the school year ended. Being new to the area and not knowing the school has really hurt my child. I'm forced to let him attend again this year because the other schools stated that they were crowded. Why doesn't anyone care about a childs education anymore. The teachers, principal, guidance counselors, etc. can't even control these children. The bathrooms are horrible ( no toliet paper, no doors). I wish I had never moved to this town.How could this be happening and nothing is ever done about it? Visiting the school, complaining, nothing seems to work. If someone can possibly help make a change I would appreciate it. These children don't stand a chance in this world without a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

I think this school is improving very well. if i were to rate as of how the students act compared to how they acted last year, and years before that, i would give it a 4 out of 5. Administration is doing a good job keepin students on track.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2004

This administration is the most unprofessional I have encountered. The teachers don't care, therefore the students don't bother. Due to current circumstances my child has to go to this school, but I am constantly working on ways to get her out of this mess. Every encounter I've had to date at that school has left a sour taste in my mouth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2003

Teachers are challenged by students who speak over them when they are teaching and disrupt the learning process. More parental involvement -- school visits, interaction with teachers would help circumvent this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

196 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4627 Old Court Rd
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 887-0742

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cambridge School
Baltimore, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT