Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Golden Ring Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 590 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

I went to Golden Ring Middle School for 6th & 7th grade and I must say I received the best education I've ever had so far at this school. I felt like it was a safe environment for me a d my friends. I will forever be indebted to the teachers there because not only did they give me an excellent education, they taught me about the real world. They've instilled great messages to me that I will never forget. It was a comfortable environment as well because we were encouraged to be ourselves.I no longer attend this school, but I know I will never find another like it. -Delilah Jones


Posted April 3, 2014

MY school is great environment for students to focus on their studies.And a great place to gets students ready for the real world.


Posted August 30, 2012

i am a student i love golden ring middle the school is not bad and our staff is not a complete joke i dont care what anybody has to say this school is great we are the first non magnent school to have a theater program and we have a AVID program i have been at golden ring for 6th 7th and now 8th grade i have enjoyed myself i will be sad when i graduate this year but i learned all i could and golden ring is improving and inplus its not the teachers its some students and you know what some people just dont raise there kids right so dont blame the school and to me golden ring will always be number 1 and anyone who disagrees i really dont care WE ARE THE BEST AND WE ARE OVER ACHIEVERS!!!!!


Posted May 25, 2011

I am a teacher at Golden Ring Middle School and I must say that the students of Golden Ring are some of the most innovative, caring, and overall good-natured students that I could have hoped for. Thanks to our student government association, two weekends ago, we had nearly 50 students and teachers show up on a Saturday morning at 8 am to improve the school grounds. I am frustrated that there are several posts on this site that represent the minority of the overall experience with GRMS. Like any urban school, we battle certain unique challenges such as students who have a difficult time dealing with conflict and lowered test scores from past educational gaps; however, we have a dedicated administrative team who relentlessly pursue great teachers and a great learning environment for our students. We all work hard to use parent, teacher, and student feedback to consistently improve our effectiveness as an institution. I am humbled to be able to learn from such aspiring young adults as Golden Ring s students and to hear the impact that Golden Ring has had on their long-term goals and aspirations. September 2011 cannot come soon enough for me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2011

This school is the poster child for TERRIBLE schools. I withdrew my child after a few weeks as he was being bullied and administration did nothing to prevent it. I told them where an incident was likely to occur, 2 days after being told it would be taken care of, my child was assaulted exactly where i told them. I even had teachers come right out and tell me that pulling my child out was best for his safety. Teachers can't control classes and administration is a complete joke. However, they surely do protect the bully, who cares about the abused students! It is an unsafe environment and students are not able to learn as they should because they are in constant fear. Very sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

You child is not safe in golden ring middle school. You send your child to school the best education he/she could receive but he/she comes home with a black eye. Tell me do you think golden ring middle is a good place for your child. Me: (I'm transfering mine asap)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I go to Golden Ring Middle School and I like it there alot. I recently switched schools and on my first day at Golden Ring i was really nerves and i mad alot of friends really fast and I've only been there two and a half weeks!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

My daughter recently transferred to Golden Ring Middle and she loves it. She is making lots of friends; not to mention, she loves all the teachers and staff. I am very grateful to everyone at Golden Ring for helping my daughter glide through this transition. Attitude is everything! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I was a former student there and to be honest it was the best year of my life. I am white and when I was going there it was only about 2-4% white. I stood out but as long as you have a good personality you'll get alonge with everyone. The teachers we're fun and taught well. A few in particular. I met the most amazing people there and have found some of my best friends for life there.


Posted February 29, 2008

My child loves it there, they have a Great GT (Gifted and Talented) Program. The teachers are Great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

as a parent of 4 i must say this is by far the most depressing school of them all 3 of my kids went there. So I'm convenced to never let my youngest child go there ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 35%
White 22% 42%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Kenwood Ave
Baltimore, MD 21237
Phone: (410) 887-0130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rosedale Center
Baltimore, MD



Building Youth
Baltimore, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT