Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southampton Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Both my children attend this school, 6th and 8th grade. Overall, we are very satisfied with the attention of teachers, how well organized the school is and most importantly the education both of my children are receiving.

Southampton Middle School 3

Posted August 06, 2011
- a community member
I recently went to Southampton and I thought it was a decent school. The teachers do their job well and the classrooms are clean and organized. The Unified Arts programs they offer are hands on and intruiging. They conduct monthly fire drills and the principal is kind but also uses dicipline if needed. However, there is a big bullying problem. I can tell the school is trying to put an end to this, but their efforts are in vain. Over all, Southampton Middle is a good school, and I learned a lot there.


Southampton Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My son is a 7th grade student on the top band team. We are very happy with Southampton. The administration runs a tight ship and the teachers are excellent. Programs like Gettysburg preservation and the Marathon of Achievement make Southampton a special place. Congratulations!

Southampton Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding school. Students are well prepared for high school. Teachers and administration are truly dedicated. The building is immaculate. My two children felt safe and happy and have fond memories of their middle school years.

Southampton Middle School 4

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
I am currently an eight grader at Southampton Middle School and I am soon going to be moving. Out of the schools I've seen, where i will be moving I was not really impressed. If I had the choice of any school to go to this would be the one. Teachers here are very caring and there are a lot of extra programs for students.


Southampton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in her last year at Southampton and loves the school. Teachers are caring and the kids get a lot out of classes, Administration runs a tight ship and the bullying issues we have run into have been dealt with immediately. I have heard of other parents having a harder time getting hard core bullies expelled but it eventually happened. My daughter an I both wish HCPS had passed the uniform code because uniforms would take a lot of stress off of pre-teens and teens. There are some extracurricular clubs but the crushing HW load means that my daughter does not have time to do anything but HW which has been the most stressful thing about school.

Southampton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Since my daught has been at Southampton Middle School it has been a very good expiernce. This is her first year there and I have a very delightful expiernce with the school. The atmoshpere there with the staff has been very wonderful. They really care about the kids.

Southampton Middle School 5

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
I am an 8th grader at southampton and have attened 6th and 7th grade at this school as well. This school, i believe is excellent. It has great after school programs available. The teachers are wonderful; and are willing to help.


Southampton Middle School 1

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southampton Middle School 4

Posted January 06, 2009
- a student
I'm a junior now and I attended Southampton. I loved it, it mixed different types of people and it was fun and challenging for me and many of my friends. I remember that it had some overcrowding issues but I didn't really have a problem with it. As for preparing us for high school I think they did a fine job. I'm now an honor student and taking ap classes. I think that had more to do with the student though, not necessarily their middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southampton Middle School
1200 Moores Mill Rd, Bel Air, MD  21014
(410) 638-4150
Last modified Southampton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southampton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top