Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southampton Middle School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
The school is great. My son, 6th grader, loves going there. It's the first time I saw him getting up early without an alarm. I am excited.

Southampton Middle School 3

Posted May 30, 2016
- a parent
This school doesn't do anything for their graduating class of 8th graders. No graduation, just a dance that has a dress code of no formal wear and no limos. Really? They're excited about graduating. Let them have the fun they deserve. This school has had bomb threats and i heard about it from my child before the school contacted parents. I'm very unhappy with this school and it's aggravating that they don't care!!!


Southampton Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Students are definitely treated differently by the staff. A student issue is treated differently based on what staff thinks about the reporting student.

Southampton Middle School 2

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
My son no longer feels safe at this school. He is bullied constantly and when he goes to staff about the problems he is having, he is either told he's making it up or is blamed for causing the issue. In other words, victim blaming. It is at the point he is hoping we move just so he doesn't have to go back to this school next year.

Southampton Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Both my children attend this school, 6th and 8th grade. Overall, we are very satisfied with the attention of teachers, how well organized the school is and most importantly the education both of my children are receiving.


Southampton Middle School 3

Posted August 06, 2011
- a community member
I recently went to Southampton and I thought it was a decent school. The teachers do their job well and the classrooms are clean and organized. The Unified Arts programs they offer are hands on and intruiging. They conduct monthly fire drills and the principal is kind but also uses dicipline if needed. However, there is a big bullying problem. I can tell the school is trying to put an end to this, but their efforts are in vain. Over all, Southampton Middle is a good school, and I learned a lot there.

Southampton Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My son is a 7th grade student on the top band team. We are very happy with Southampton. The administration runs a tight ship and the teachers are excellent. Programs like Gettysburg preservation and the Marathon of Achievement make Southampton a special place. Congratulations!

Southampton Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding school. Students are well prepared for high school. Teachers and administration are truly dedicated. The building is immaculate. My two children felt safe and happy and have fond memories of their middle school years.


Southampton Middle School 4

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
I am currently an eight grader at Southampton Middle School and I am soon going to be moving. Out of the schools I've seen, where i will be moving I was not really impressed. If I had the choice of any school to go to this would be the one. Teachers here are very caring and there are a lot of extra programs for students.

Southampton Middle School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in her last year at Southampton and loves the school. Teachers are caring and the kids get a lot out of classes, Administration runs a tight ship and the bullying issues we have run into have been dealt with immediately. I have heard of other parents having a harder time getting hard core bullies expelled but it eventually happened. My daughter an I both wish HCPS had passed the uniform code because uniforms would take a lot of stress off of pre-teens and teens. There are some extracurricular clubs but the crushing HW load means that my daughter does not have time to do anything but HW which has been the most stressful thing about school.

Nearby schools

Southampton Middle School
1200 Moores Mill Rd, Bel Air, MD  21014
(410) 638-4150
Last modified Southampton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top