Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berwyn Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My wife and I love this school. I have met all the the upper administration and most of the teachers. They are seem to be passionate about teaching and making a positive impact on the students. I would defiantly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

What a wonderful neighborhood school we have in BHES! My oldest son is halfway through kindergarten so we are new to the school, but we have been so impressed by his (national board certified) teacher, the principal and all the great staff here. He is so much further ahead in reading and all his subjects than we thought he would be after just 6 months in K. Its amazing how much they have covered in such a short time. The building is bright and clean, with the hallways lined with the students' work; the school gardens are super and having a school uniform is great. The school always seems very orderly and all the students I've met are polite and respectful to each other and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2011

The only reason why I did not rate this school with a score of excellence is because of a (now thankfully removed) instructor named T.B who was disrespectful and lazy. The principal is great, and loving, and unlike the abomination known as Springhill Lake elementary school, there is no gang activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I have 2 kid who attend this school (K and 1st) grade. So far I have had a great experience with this school and I agree will all other parents - Principal leadership is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I love Berwyn Heights Elementary School because of the great staff that work there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

This is an exceptional neighborhood school. The choral teacher is top notch. We have been very happy with the education our 3 children have received here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I have a daughter in 5th grade who started her instrument in 4th grade. A son who has has special needs and I have been highly impressed with the way the teachers, principal, and staff are all eager to help in any way they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I have two children at BHES - the oldest entering his 6th year there and the youngest his 2nd. I love this school - the teachers are passionate about teaching and the administration works hard to constantly better the school. I would love to see more recess for the kids but overall couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

We sent our son to BHES after two years in a private school. We love the school, the parents, and the diversity of the student body. The teachers are really committed and the students seem to know that they must behave themselves, which I think comes from the top down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

Berwyn Heights Elementary is an excellent school. We have 2 children in the school and this is our 4th year. We have had excellent teachers. The instrumental music starts in 4th grade, and that teacher is also fantastic. I like our principal, she does a great job leading the school. There are many opportunities for parents to help in the classroom. I am so glad we moved to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
Black 25% 35%
White 14% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 Pontiac St
Berwyn Heights, MD 20740
Phone: (240) 684-6210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Friends Community School
College Park, MD



Holy Redeemer School
College Park, MD



Berwyn Christian School
College Park, MD


Al-Huda School
College Park, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT