Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas W. Pyle Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

I came here in the 7th grade, and I sure was glad when I found out that I didn't have to be here in the 8th grade. The environment is a bit too restrictive. I wasn't allowed to leave the cafeteria during lunch, and I had to wait outside the main entrance in all weather extremes until 7:45 to enter the building, even though the bus almost always arrived earlier. I could only be at a designated area during TAG unless I had a pass. Grade integration is discouraged because on the buses, it's 6th front, 7th middle, and 8th back (student tradition). Lunch periods are segregated by grade, so 8th graders are guaranteed to go hungry with 3rd or 4th lunch. The 6th, 7th, and 8th grade classrooms are grouped together. Backpacks and coats have to be stored in lockers, so when there was a fire emergency in December, I had to stand outside in the freezing cold. There is one media center rather than multiple computer labs. The good things about Pyle were the food and sufficient academic performance. Most kids made the honor roll and a large percentage got straight As for a given quarter. There were two teachers that I liked out of the nine I had.


Posted April 29, 2013

In some ways Pyle is a great school. The curriculum is excellent and rigorous, if a little traditional. Most teachers are dedicated and caring. But be prepared for high expectations on students, relentless pressure and over-emphasis on grades and testing. I get that the school tries to prepare students for the pressure and competitiveness of high school, but it is too much pressure on kids too early. This school may be better than most, but it does not attempt to meet the needs of young people. Rather, It demands that students fit its mould. There is a belief that as Pyle is such a good school, if a student is unhappy there must be something wrong with the student. There is no recess or outdoor time during the school day, which is just terrible for students this age. Students often can't sit with friends, even at lunch. At worst, It is a rote learning factory churning out high performing, hard working drones. But they will be prepared for the demands and high expectations of the local high school. The school isn't totally responsible for this educational culture - local parents demand the school set the bar high for students. But I've met many parents who question it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

This school is inconclusive no other word for it the English teachers drone on the front office is rude (They seem to speek in some wierd variation of morse code that involves tapping on the desk) avoid it at all costs alot of my fellow students are rude as well it's like no one here knows how to act halfway decent i'm thinking of leaving and going to Westland thigs seem much better there than at this poor school.


Posted February 19, 2013

omg the person below me is right. The front office is VERY RUDE. I have zero involvement with the school because of it. I think my kids are doing ok but it really it's just average and not worth 5 stars. If your first point of contact with the school is the front office and the interaction is so rude what does that say about the school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

Academically this school is first-rate. About half of the teachers through my child's time here were excellent and the other half were mediocre (especially the teachers who've been there for many, many years). The counselors are superb! The front office -- if you ever have to do anything that requires you dealing with the people in the front office, brace yourself for uncivil behavior, including answering your questions with tapping on different parts of the desk to indicate a form that needs to be filled out (Hey lady, I don't speak "tap" - USE YOUR WORDS!). Avoid the front office as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

This is one of the best public school and anyone placing their kids in private schools here really has an issue(s)!!! Of course there are minuses (such as the Drama dept... very unexpected BAD reviews there, take another elective and skip Mrs Cox OMG) but there are AMAZING teachers (walk on water amazing) and they really care about the kids, their safety, their learning styles etc... If your kids has ANY issue that needs to be addressed it will be. Their Special Ed department is unreal! They get kids from the brink back to straight As. My son attended 6, 7 and 8th gr and I cannot thank them enough for their "gentle toughness" and their constant attention. Counselors rock (REALLY!) and even if the language department leaves much to be desired in terms of teacher quality, you will not find a better math dept anywhere!!! The organization and parent contact and involvement also is fantastic. Go on ratemyteachers dot com and check out individuals. That's the only negative I can point out, but if your child has an issue with a specific teacher they will address it! They are very accessible. Loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Pyle middle school has good teachers and to be honest is a pretty good school, however I do not beleive it is outstanding. I beleive for a school to be above average it needs to really engage students. It fails. English (one of my favorite subjects) has become so extremely boring I'm starting to forget the point. I have never liked math either but last year at my old school I got an A. Here I can barely stay awake. Also parents tend to be somewhat deluded about kids. There are some really great students but I've never met students (and I'm not just speaking about those few extremely bad kids) that where so stunningly disrespectful or immature. Not even funny immature just really annoying. My parents say thats most kids that lived out of the country are more mature, but going to school now feels like doomsday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2010

Truly a very productive school. I only recently transfered here from another public school in the county, and I couldn't be happier. The envoirment is so relaxed, and there are very little bullies and reluctant students who want to do work. The teachers put work in a creative, yet straitforward way. I wonder if thats just the way the cirricuclum is formed ir just the teachers. I haven't seen a teacher or student who isn't prepared to work (sadly with a few minnor exeptions). Not only that, but the extra cirricular activities are astonding. The band sounds very well organized and professional, unlike many other middle schools in the county which im sorry to say, are not as high quality as this one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

We are a blue ribbon school, and Pyle has very few bullies thanks to their great no bullying programs. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2009

You can't ask for more. I have had 3 kids go to this school and couldn't be happier. Level is extremely high if you are placed in top classes, and the organisation of the school is superb. This is THE BEST, of the countr. And it's free:) this is why houses near this school are so wanted. The school spends 14 thousand $ every year on each student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

this school is very productive. i especially enjoy and appreciate the hard work and dedication they put in. from the principal to the bodyguards, this school is an overall plus. Maybe there is a few teachers better than others here and there, but most of them care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2008

Pyles good but there is a lot of preasure and tests!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

Excellent guidance staff and principal; skilled and dedicated teachers, and an active parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This school has high demands. They really have good planning and follow up regarding homework assessments etc. Great principal who has choosen the right staff all over in school. So dont move Mr Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Pyle is very high in academics, but that is all the teachers seem to care about. Even my Physical Education teacher only says that we must be the best school in the US. I think that we could use some more creativity and time to relax. I always get stressed out because of the pressure they put on all of the students here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

This is a very awesome school. As seventh grader, unlike the person who said the school stinks. People are very welcoming to the school. The teachers are nice and you learn things from them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2006

i belive pyle is a desent school. the only problems i have had are that there are not many school sports for example football baseball cheerleading etc. but the learning and teachers are nice. the students are also very freindly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

While Pyle school is to be commended for being Blue Ribbon, it may have reached such acclaim at a huge price to students. The award is received for math and reading scores and this counts for only a small percentage of the student body. Teachers are unable to perform their tasks creatively because they need to make sure the students do well on the tests. The school follows a block schedule (90 minute blocks of class) and this is quite difficult for middle schoolers (and adults!) to sit without stretching. In addition, recess has been eliminated and students are not permitted to move around the cafeteria during lunch. Not all teachers are dedicated. I have met teachers who love their job and those who don't and for the latter the behavior is reflected in the their lessons plans and interpersonal relationships with parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

I am very pleased to have my child go to this school. When she comes home most of the days she is happy that she had to get up so early because the teachers enlighten her day. All of the teachers seem to be good at what they are doing froom what she tells me. And she is in most of the afterschool programs which she says are really enjoyable. Though I am not envolved in the school day, my child tells me the 411 as she calls it on what is going on so I do not worry about anything that goes on during the day. But over Thomas W. Pyle is a very good school and I think that anyone should send their child their if they want a fun school the has the right amount of education while allowing the children to prepare for High School or Whitman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

Thomas W. Pyle is a great school for everyone. They have great classes for those who need to excel or people who need extra help. The teachers are also very skilled and teach in a very effective but pleasnt manor.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 2% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6311 Wilson Ln
Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone: (301) 320-6540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Landon School
Bethesda, MD



Holton-Arms School
Bethesda, MD



The Woods Academy
Bethesda, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT