Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-12
Private
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 675
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Landon School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school! All components of the curriculum are outstanding. Academics, sports, the arts and music programs are all top notch. The boys are challenged in an extremely nurturing environment and the faculty is outstanding and caring. The strong community bond and brotherhood amongst the boys is exceptional. Having such a beautiful campus is a plus!

Landon School 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a community member
Landon school is terrible all they are about is safety if you want your child to hate life send him to landon. They are terrible about school closing sand delays their gradually gliding downhill from the powerhouse at everything it used to be. The teachers don't care about helping your kids all they care about is not helping your kids. They are pompous freaks over their. I would rather send my child to public school. Hope this helps and believe me I've had 3 kids go through this school.


Landon School 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
A school that advertises high standards should think twice when it comes to their faculty. They should have a better selection method to avoid getting people on board who have real life issues. Bad influence for middle school age kids.

Landon School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a community member
this is the worst school ever terrible people academics and just plain down old terrible i hate landon

Landon School 1

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
As a parent, I have direct knowledge. This is school for one type of boy, one of very average intellect, that follows direction with no question, and limited creativity. There is THE Landon way for your boy else your boy will require "improvement". The teaching staff is very inconsistent. A few teachers are outstanding, most are not, do not work very hard, and have been there way too long. You will spend way too much time doing Landon's job. Count how many teachers are in the classroom (not the weight room) after 2 PM. If your son is an athlete or the family contributes there is special treatment. There are dramatic changes still required even after recent wholesale changes in leadership at all of the schools. I moved my son out and would absolutely not recommend the school. Many parents there are not in touch with reality. Landon does not know most boys and has shown to be locked in the 1950s. Arts and sciences are pathetic. Ask to see the sad science labs and old outdated programs. Landon has no vision and is lost. Most placements show the limited success. Too many good school choices, do not be fooled into supporting the few "stars" with your son. Tradition is no excuse.


Landon School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
If your son is motivated by challenge, this is an absolutely top notch school. I have 2 sons here, one who is wonderfully compassionate, bright and a natural leader, and the other is a highly gifted learner and incredibly athletic yet reserved and quiet. Both boys are thriving in their academics. One has become an amazing artist and the other a wonderful musician. Both made seamless transitions due to a very committed and caring faculty. The teachers are very committed and involved in the lives of the students and reach out to parents with thoughts and suggestions for success! There is something very unique and special about this place, and you can feel it when you are part of the community!

Landon School 5

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
Undoubtedly a top tier school school. Landon is not for everyone. It is academically rigorous, and a competitive environment. But its also very supportive and inclusive, especially if your child is motivated. It creates strong bonds and loyalties among students and faculty. For those who can cope with the high expectations of the program, it will bring out a better academic and artistic performance and, what is more, it will help your boy develop into a well rounded gentleman.

Landon School 5

Posted January 22, 2011
- a parent
Landon is a very special place that combines phenomenal athletics with rigorous academics. We have a very quiet, mild-mannered humble son who is an amazing artist and a gifted learner. He was new to the high school and had a seamless transition. The school is very proactive and responsive to any problems. It is an amazing place! Despite the publicity last year, the received 120 applicants and only had 18 spots!


Landon School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
I have had 15 yrs of involvement with Landon having two sons attend there. I am a tough critic and can say without reservation that this is an excellent school inside and outside of the classroom. My sons have made friendships that will last a lifetime, both with their peers and their teachers. Landon has been a partner in my parenting efforts to teach my sons right from wrong, to be respectful of others and to always give their best effort in any endeavor. It is disturbing to hear the media and other individuals try to undermine an 80-yr old institution where so many students have thrived and so many adults have given their life's work to effectively teach and mentor. Stereotyping the Landon commununity as spoiled, wealthy, and morally lax is also incorrect and myopic.

Landon School 4

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
I have seen Landon kids and graduates in recent years. I have also seen the school's tradition and culture and I can tell you that it is something special. The media and publicity which Landon is receiving recently has been out of control. Do you actually believe that all the boys at Landon are actually that careless? At every school, you will find a batch of boys/girls who choose to conduct in a immature or unacceptable manner, thus we come to certain boys who came up in the news recently. Therefore, these little news columns are blowing up these stories to damage a school's high reputation. Think for a second. It's the families' responsibilities sometimes to nurture their children not always the school. These recent stories do not reflect on Landon's quality of students. Opinion wise, Landon still ranks near the best with Georgetown Prep and Sidwell Friends.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landon School
6101 Wilson Lane, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 320-3200
Last modified Landon School is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
Landon School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top