Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3-12|Private
675 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Landon School 3

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
The school is kind of cold. We are used to a more friendly environment at our previous school

Landon School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Every kid past middle school is incredibly rude and obnoxious, and overall mean. I have nothing nice to say about any of them.


Landon School 1

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
This place is awful. I went their for two years and hated it. All the students are pretentious a**holes and can't stand a single person on campus. I have to go pick up my brother sometimes and everyone stares at you while you wait in a long line filled with lexuses and BMW's. It has always bothered me that you pay so much for that school where, I learn 10x more at public school, that they can't have busses. The kids are only in class for like 3 hours a day and just about every kid is incredibly rude.

Landon School 1

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
The kids are mean and cliquey and all rich and snobby. Academics are horrible it's just a school for pampered kids honestly just go to public school because it will provide a better education. The only thing they're good at is sports but that doesn't even matter because hardly any kids will have a future being professional athletes anyway.

Landon School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school! All components of the curriculum are outstanding. Academics, sports, the arts and music programs are all top notch. The boys are challenged in an extremely nurturing environment and the faculty is outstanding and caring. The strong community bond and brotherhood amongst the boys is exceptional. Having such a beautiful campus is a plus!


Landon School 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a community member
Landon school is terrible all they are about is safety if you want your child to hate life send him to landon. They are terrible about school closing sand delays their gradually gliding downhill from the powerhouse at everything it used to be. The teachers don't care about helping your kids all they care about is not helping your kids. They are pompous freaks over their. I would rather send my child to public school. Hope this helps and believe me I've had 3 kids go through this school.

Landon School 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
A school that advertises high standards should think twice when it comes to their faculty. They should have a better selection method to avoid getting people on board who have real life issues. Bad influence for middle school age kids.

Landon School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a community member
this is the worst school ever terrible people academics and just plain down old terrible i hate landon


Landon School 1

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
As a parent, I have direct knowledge. This is school for one type of boy, one of very average intellect, that follows direction with no question, and limited creativity. There is THE Landon way for your boy else your boy will require "improvement". The teaching staff is very inconsistent. A few teachers are outstanding, most are not, do not work very hard, and have been there way too long. You will spend way too much time doing Landon's job. Count how many teachers are in the classroom (not the weight room) after 2 PM. If your son is an athlete or the family contributes there is special treatment. There are dramatic changes still required even after recent wholesale changes in leadership at all of the schools. I moved my son out and would absolutely not recommend the school. Many parents there are not in touch with reality. Landon does not know most boys and has shown to be locked in the 1950s. Arts and sciences are pathetic. Ask to see the sad science labs and old outdated programs. Landon has no vision and is lost. Most placements show the limited success. Too many good school choices, do not be fooled into supporting the few "stars" with your son. Tradition is no excuse.

Landon School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
If your son is motivated by challenge, this is an absolutely top notch school. I have 2 sons here, one who is wonderfully compassionate, bright and a natural leader, and the other is a highly gifted learner and incredibly athletic yet reserved and quiet. Both boys are thriving in their academics. One has become an amazing artist and the other a wonderful musician. Both made seamless transitions due to a very committed and caring faculty. The teachers are very committed and involved in the lives of the students and reach out to parents with thoughts and suggestions for success! There is something very unique and special about this place, and you can feel it when you are part of the community!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landon School
6101 Wilson Lane, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 320-3200
Last modified Landon School is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
Landon School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top