Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3-12|Private
675 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Landon School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Stevie Brown is an AWESOME educator! She really gets the students to want to learn and you can tell that she genuinely cares about the boys. (Plus, she uses a little of "old school" teaching tactics in a world where everything is digital)

Landon School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
My son does not need much direction, but he could benefit from a mentor (which has not happened in 5 yrs). Also, I talk to a few parents who say their son is struggling. For the price of tuition, NO CHILD should fall in the cracks. Communication between teachers and staff is sub par.


Landon School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
My son is advanced academically and this is the first out of 3 schools that he has actually had to study for and I see him being challenged.

Landon School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
They have an honor code that is followed "selectively". This school tends to be more forgiving to legacy children which is not what "fairness and integrity" are about at all.

Landon School 3

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The school is kind of cold. We are used to a more friendly environment at our previous school


Landon School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Every kid past middle school is incredibly rude and obnoxious, and overall mean. I have nothing nice to say about any of them.

Landon School 1

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
This place is awful. I went their for two years and hated it. All the students are pretentious a**holes and can't stand a single person on campus. I have to go pick up my brother sometimes and everyone stares at you while you wait in a long line filled with lexuses and BMW's. It has always bothered me that you pay so much for that school where, I learn 10x more at public school, that they can't have busses. The kids are only in class for like 3 hours a day and just about every kid is incredibly rude.

Landon School 1

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
The kids are mean and cliquey and all rich and snobby. Academics are horrible it's just a school for pampered kids honestly just go to public school because it will provide a better education. The only thing they're good at is sports but that doesn't even matter because hardly any kids will have a future being professional athletes anyway.


Landon School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school! All components of the curriculum are outstanding. Academics, sports, the arts and music programs are all top notch. The boys are challenged in an extremely nurturing environment and the faculty is outstanding and caring. The strong community bond and brotherhood amongst the boys is exceptional. Having such a beautiful campus is a plus!

Landon School 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a community member
Landon school is terrible all they are about is safety if you want your child to hate life send him to landon. They are terrible about school closing sand delays their gradually gliding downhill from the powerhouse at everything it used to be. The teachers don't care about helping your kids all they care about is not helping your kids. They are pompous freaks over their. I would rather send my child to public school. Hope this helps and believe me I've had 3 kids go through this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landon School
6101 Wilson Lane, Bethesda, MD  20817
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (301) 320-3200
Last modified Landon School is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
Top