Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-2
Private
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 106
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harbor School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do not care. They talk to the kids like they [teachers ] are robots. No human contact at all really surprising.

Harbor School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
home work was a really poor. The child would come home with a piece of paper for home work. One that had been copied off a website. The website would change nightly. No structure . Regretted not taking the child to public school instead. Really poor.


Harbor School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Went to the school to observe a class unfortunately after enrollment. Found half of the kids on the floor playing , doing other things than listening to the teacher. Teacher just continued the class teaching only those kids that cared to listen.

Harbor School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Difficult for this to be molded in the kids There is great disorganization in this school.

Harbor School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The staff and head of school themselves are not caring, do not have compassion ,nor have empathy.


Harbor School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
School is so disorganized that its practically impossible to develop such traits. I doubt the staff care to take time to mold the students in this way.

Harbor School 1

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Our child was a student for 1 year. It was a nightmare. Teachers that do not care, a Head of school who is buddy buddy with staff, facilities and resources are very poor in spite of what was advertised. The most scary part is the unwillingness to change or take advice. The teachers have a blank stare when communicating with the children like they are in another world. A truly poor school. Look carefully before you sign your young child up.

Harbor School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
Truly MoCo's best kept secret! After a LONG road, our son has finally found the perfect school where he is happy, healthy, thriving & feels right at home! We started him at Franklin in Rockville at 2. His teachers were GREAT, but they have since left. His pre-K teacher was verbally abusive & downright combative (she has also since left). We then tried Goddard Gaithersburg, which was a good school but way too structured & teachers were sweet, but 3 yrs out of college & weren't equipped to deal w/our son's challenges. They tried to work w/us, but in the end, we didn't want to medicate our son for his (moderate) ADHD & they asked us to leave. What seemed like the end of the world at the time (it was late May!) as we put him in Kinder Care at Crabbs Branch (great daycare!) & scrambled to find a new permanent school turned out to be a blessing, since we later found Harbor! It's the school that any parent would want for their child: a 1:7 teacher/student ratio (max 14 in a class), amazing teachers, GREAT enrichment programs & administrators, VERY involved parents, & a small town feel. Everyone is SO NICE. We count our blessings everyday for Harbor & will be sad when our son graduates!


Harbor School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been at The Harbor School for 6 years now and could not be more pleased. We initially were interested in per-K only, but feel in love with the school and are sending all of our children there through 2nd grade now. Harbor kids kids, and deeply understands early childhood. It is a safe and secure place for children to develop a love of learning and figure out how they learn best. The extraordinarily low faculty to child ratio, 5:1, can't be beat, and ensures every child is getting excellent attention and support. We highly recommend Harbor!

Harbor School 5

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
Harbor provides an incredibly nurturing environment that takes the discipline of early childhood education seriously. This is not a warehouse for little kids, occupying their time until they get to the older grades - this is a school that believes early childhood education not only is a building block, but central and critical to the child's overall development and future educational achievement. There is also an increasing body of work that suggests that you really don't know how a child will learn, and what sort of scholastic environment suits them until they are 7 or so. Since I ascribe to that line of thought, observing our child in the early years and making an educated choice about future schooling after the second grade makes sense. Finally - Harbor's reputation is stellar, so placement after 2nd has proven to be as painless as it can be. I can't say enough about this place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harbor School
7701 Bradley Boulevard, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 365-1100
Last modified Harbor School is a Private school that serves grades PK-2
Harbor School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top