Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bartholomews School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bethesda

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $729,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

My child is at St. Bart's and is doing fantastic academically, socially, and spiritually. New principal is great, the staff and faculty are caring and nurturing. Lots of great afterschool activities, HSA is engaged, the community is very friendly. Wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

I attended St. Bart's when I was younger, 6th-8th grade and I have to say it was the best thing my parents did for me. I am now a proud mother of two and just starting my search for a private elementary school. After reading some very interesting reviews on some other schools I wanted to write something about St. Bart s. This school is nonjudgmental, the staff is very caring and will go completely out of their way to help in any way they can. I struggled with learning disabilities as a child and the program this school offers changed my life. They really helped with my schooling & I learned ways to deal with my disabilities. I would recommend this school to anyone with bright children and to children that need a little help! Great school, awesome teachers, awesome everything!


Posted October 1, 2013

Excellent school !!! Very involved new principal this year. Parents can't say enough great things about him. Smaller class size means lots more one on one attention for students. The faculty and staff could not be more encouraging !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

WONDERFUL school!! Tight knit community, caring environment. Great education! My children have been attending the school for seven years now and we have young children that will be going too. We won't send our children anywhere else. This school is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

A loving and nurturing environment with caring faculty and staff where children grow and learn so that when they graduate they can excel at the most competitive high schools in the area and also be the kindest person in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

The School is Amazing! My kids actually jump out of bed in the moring to go. The teachers take care of all of the children. My children are far ahead academically. My son is GT/LD and is supported by a resource teacher and a tutor and the teachers give extra help. Lots of sports and clubs. For Catholic or non-Catholics. Lots of access for parents & fun stuff for parents. A great Principal, beautiful campus and excellent price!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

A very nurturing school balanced out by a strong CYO program with a High School quality Gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Absolutely wonderful. Small, close knit community. Academically challenging but provides a lot of support. Beautiful new gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Black 8% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 River Road
Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone: (301) 229-5586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holton-Arms School
Bethesda, MD




Landon School
Bethesda, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT