Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Jane De Chantal School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
We transferred to St Jane de Chantal from another ADW school. Our children have never been happier. Best decision we ever made. They love, love de Chantal and look forward to school everyday. We chose to move them due to the lack of classroom management at their previous school, as well as lack of respect for authority, poorly enforced dress code, no clear direction from the administration and teachers that seemed disinterested. We have never regretted the move! The principal and staff at St Jane de Chantal promote a faith based environment of respect, warmth and commitment to excellence. The teachers are wonderful. They often work during their lunch and after school to provide extra help to any child that needs it. The children are normal, nice, well mannered, smart and always smiling. The administration and teachers are very approachable. The academics are top notch. Our children have very different learning styles and all of them have succeeded. We are impressed with St Jane's high school placement. De Chantal is very respected by all private and Catholic high schools. Parents are friendly, welcoming, involved. St Jane Catholic School has been a terrific gift for our family.

St Jane De Chantal School 2

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
School has absolutely NO resources to treat the slightest learning disability. Academics are poor, and teachers have no training to teach the new generation. A lot of "old school" teachers screaming, yelling and caught up with the semantics. Don't waste your money like I did!!!


St Jane De Chantal School 2

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
My kids were so bored at this school. It is mostly a school for socializing, and it took us too long to realize that. There are some very nice families, but then there is also a large contingent who use the school for social climbing who don't seem to care about the quality of education. The math, science and social studies, are far behind the basic public school level, there has not been a foreign language offered in yrs and in 6th grade the kids are still using crayons and doing line design projects (again) in art class - preschool level stuff. Some parents are very cliquey and when they volunteer, they exclude the families that they don't see as worthy social partners. Since we weren't high on the social rung, our kids got some horrible teachers (1 teacher used a tape record reading the social studies book for class, 1 teacher screamed all year, 1 planned her wedding on the computer & phone all year & talked @ starving herself to get into her dress). We liked the principal, but she is ineffective against the aggressive parents & doesn't keep up w/ the teachers or classes. Kids begged to leave - people from that school look through you now like you don't exist - it's creepy!

St Jane De Chantal School 3

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
School is OK but do know that your parenting will be second guessed the whole way thru. Very judgmental staff and administration. Children and relatives of teachers, principal and parents whose job it is to volunteer at the school, are the only ones selected for anything special and truly live by a different set of rules. Lower grade teachers are quite good, the quality deteriorates a little each year so by Middle School the quality is poor. Middle school science is embarrassingly bad, math is so-so and Spanish is a total waste of time.

St Jane De Chantal School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
The best decision I have made for my children. A wonderful blessing in every way. Principal is a 5 Stars Intellectual, Caring, Leader. She makes sure all teachers are outstanding and keeps parents informed and encourages them to be pretty involved at school. Teachers have authority and parents listen to them. Teachers keep communication channel open with parents at all times. I feel I can be at peace knowing my children are in a safe, caring environment an receiving the quality christian education they deserve!! I feel so blessed to have my children at this school. I finally put an end to years of bullying at public system!! Thank God for St. Janes De Chantal and for its outstanding Principal and Teachers! God Bless Them!!


St Jane De Chantal School 5

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I feel grateful and blessed for the gift of sending our three children to St. Jane Dechantal School. This is our 17th year with a child attending the school. We have been lucky enough to experience how well-prepared our oldest two children were to move on to an excellent private high school and then to strong universities. My oldest child is now a senior at Duke University, preparing to go to medical school. The principal and teachers are hard- working professionals who truly care about the emotional, spiritual, and academic growth of the students. There is a feeling of family in the school environment, which begins with the principal who emphasizes traditional values and the a sense of cherishing each moment with our children. My children have learned to work hard, accept responsibility, treat people with repect, and truly care about others. With our youngest child now in middle school, we are approaching the end of our dechantal years. Leaving dechantal will feel like leaving home.

St Jane De Chantal School 5

Posted May 22, 2007
- a parent
Looking for small class sizes? Try public or exclusive private schools. DeChantal is a healthy Roman Catholic elementary school not a private school. They still recognize that there are parents making sacrifices to send their children to faith-based school, not just seeking prestige of 'private' education. Dedicated teachers do an excellent job of managing the 22-30 students per class. Excellent academics - strong in math particularly in upper school. Focus is on the basics, but there are a number of interesting and challenging extracurricular activities available to students. 'Extended Day' program is terrific for working parents, and kids seem to enjoy it. Parent involvement is very high, and there are many ways to jump in and help and meet other parents. Principal supports diversity and the student body represents a wide range of ethnic and cultural backgrounds. Respect and tolerance are encouraged; service projects sponsored monthly; with daily active religious education.

St Jane De Chantal School 5

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
DeChantal academics are outstanding just hard to know until you experience first hand.Students are attentive, engaged, nice mannered.The class size is overwhelming, not right for all but does work. My child thrived in Kindergarten class of 29.The teacher had such a command of the class. There are resource teachers and they break into small groups, the school will work with all levels. Teachers uphold traditional academic standards, work closely together, have greater flexibility to adapt than other school systems.The teachers are open to communicating what your child is learning. The school does not openly communicate through e-mail, they value letter writing and face-to-face meetings, once you accept it is nice.They are updating web sites as they understand the need. The carpool is not as bad as written.This is an inclusive school with many volunteer and social opportunities. School is about the students day, kids find their place and parents will too.


St Jane De Chantal School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
De Chantal is a great school in many ways: strong Catholic values, caring teachers, strong community and traditions. But the the biggest weak link is the class size: 30+ children per classroom. There are aides in the lower grades, but still...30 is HUGE. That is much bigger than the public elementary schools. Every teacher will tell you that one of the most important features to look for in quality schools is class size. If De Chantal fixes this one issue, it will go from being a very good school with a very good reputation to being top tier/outstanding. The tuition will need to come up, but there is room for that, since its currently at only about 4k...one of the lowest in the area...and most parents in this area can afford more and would willingly pay it for smaller classes. Come on...let see class sizes of less than 20.

St Jane De Chantal School 2

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
The school needs to get in the 21st century. The Web site is inadequate. School/parent communication is restricted. Endless phone tag. Teachers need professional development. Discipline is strict to the point of absurdity. Not condusive to working parents. Clique-like environment. Academics not impressive and unimaginative while educational support for students is not offered. The dismissal/parent car pick-up pick up process is out of Groucho Marx movie. But, well-behaved kids and pretty school who know their catechism.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Jane De Chantal School
9525 Old Georgetown Road, Bethesda, MD  20814
(301) 530-1221
Last modified St Jane De Chantal School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Jane De Chantal School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top