Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Bethesda Middle School 3

Posted May 11, 2016
- a community member
I see the reviews, and agree. The staff, especially the security guard. Simply put he should not work around our children.

North Bethesda Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Highly qualified teachers (all of them has at least masters), elite parents. We are very happy and proud.


North Bethesda Middle School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
i am a student at nb and i know it is a horrible school. The environment is not pleasant.Teachers are avery irritating and make you want to pull your ears out.Some classes are not useful in life.In conclusion this school is much worse than you think.always try to avoid this school. It will be the worst decision of your life.Don't go.

North Bethesda Middle School 3

Posted November 30, 2013
- a parent
North Bethesda is a great school in terms of academics. My child and many others have been able to get straight a's even with their rigorous programs. The reason it hasn't gotten a total 5/5 stars from me is because of the staff and the social problems between students. My child has been teased and "bullied" by a certain security guard and by a certain reading teacher. These staff members have done the same to other students and have no boundaries when it comes to a child's emotions, and well being. The social problems of North Bethesda were a problem as well. It seems that people focus on your mile time, and your grades or the classes you are in as opposed to both those and creativity, etc...

North Bethesda Middle School 2

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
North bethesda middle school is really good but my child had a very hard time with one security guard whom i don't want to name but he was giving harsh words to my child on nothing and he bullies people around the teachers are really nice but i want the children to have more creativity instead of just turning in the assignment. For the parent involvement i would give 10/10 and for teachers and staff i would give 2/10 and not all teachers are bad some are that always work for our children to be better and the music programs are really really good they bring the community together!


North Bethesda Middle School 3

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
North bethesda middle school is a good school with very good test scores, very good curicullum. but the main problem is the staff. the principal and vice principal rarely take a students side in an issue and have trouble manitaining order within the school. one of the security guards frequently bullied my child with harsh words and mean behavior. Also when a child and a teacher do not get along well, the teacher gets away with bringing the students grade down because of a grudge. also my child was frequently picked on by a teachers aid, the aid isolated my child from the rest of the class and was forced to work by himself on a group project, and the teacher did not do anything about it. for the school and curicullum i give a 10 out of 10 but the staff are a 3 out of 10.

North Bethesda Middle School 4

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
NBMS was good academically. Leadership was poor. The counseling department was excellent and worked hard to get my child a good IEP which would work with her dyslexia. Scheduling was excellent. Had to advocate and monitor the IEP issue very closely. Teachers were willing to help.

North Bethesda Middle School 4

Posted September 29, 2009
- a student
I thik that NBMS is a wonderful school the principal and vp run it very well. Although it has a few issuses with, the students(drugs, alchohol) overall its a great school.


North Bethesda Middle School 3

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
I have had two kids at NBMS and have both positive and negative comments. First the positive. The student and parent community is academically strong. The education is highly structured and the school performs very well on standardized tests. The music program is special, really bringing the community together. Next the negative. The highly structured education leaves little room for creativity. There is oddly little student presentation; students just hand their writing or projects into the teacher for a grade and never present them to their peers. Aside from PE, there is no physical activity allowed -- no recesses and no ability to go outside during lunch. When students are taking Health instead of PE, they go three months with no activity at all in their 6 hour days. Finally, while there is a core of superb teachers, the school seems to have difficulty removing weak teachers.

North Bethesda Middle School 2

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
My child attended NBMS for 3 years (05-08). Like most schools it had a few great teachers but also some 'not so great ones'. Biggest problem is the the Administration -- and the lack of leadership. The principal will aviod getting involved in anything that may lead him into dealing with parents, especially if it concerns something they dont like about the school. The class sizes are too large 28-30 kids in a math class! (I felt sorry for the teachers who were clearly overwhelmed.) Due to the lack of leadership and the overcrowding we decided to send our younger child to private school instead of NBMS. Why do we pay the taxes we do here in MC for such a poorly run overcrowded school? I have never posted comments to these things but seeing this school rated as a '10' just did not pass the laugh test.

Nearby schools

North Bethesda Middle School
8935 Bradmoor Dr, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 571-3883
Last modified North Bethesda Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top