Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Feynman School

Private | PK-3 | 45 students

early gifted and talented education featuring hands-on science and the arts
 
 

 
 

Living in Bethesda

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $729,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

Absolutely fabulous dedication to a very specific mission. If you have a student who is not being served well where they are this is a school worth checking out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

*** After reading the negative review below I simply had to chime in. It is true that Feynman School is a startup that is renting space from a church, but it is an amazing school that puts the needs of these bright and curious children first. They do better than having formal classes for Art and Technology. They regularly bring in local experts and spur on the children's curiosity in everything as they study these topics in conjunction with their daily work. In the time that my children have been at this school I have seen a doctor come in to help with the anatomy lessons and art history experts come in to teach art. They have had field trips, music lessons, and drama taught by staff from the Imagination Stage. These are just a few of many opportunities my children have had. They also participate in chess class at the school as well as a basketball program and a robotics program. At any school you may find a disgruntled parent for any number of reasons, but if you are considering Feynman School for your exceptional student please schedule a visit and ask to speak to the rest of the Feynman parents, we would be glad to tell you PLENTY of "success stories"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

This was my daughter's first year at this school and I was blown away by her growth, both academically and socially. The depth at which they teach these kids on various subject matters is truly impressive. What I can appreciate, as a parent, is that if my child is more advanced on a specific skill, they will allow her to jump forward and adjust the subject matter to her skill level instead of making her go through the same exercise as the other kids because it's part of the curriculum. The cost of the school gave me pause initially (as did all the private schools we visited since I grew up in the public school system) but the fact that I see motivated and eager teachers, committed leadership with a specific vision geared towards challenging young minds, and the steady improvement of critical thinking in my child, it makes it all worth it and then some. My hope is that my daughter's love of learning, that is abundantly cultivated here at Feynman, persists throughout her lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My son started at Feynman in K, and he has leapfrogged ahead in terms of his academics and confidence. This is a school for gifted kids (so all the kids are advanced), but we found that our son really opened up and became more confident in expressing his opinions and contributing to the classroom during the past year. We were also impressed with the way his teachers worked with him one-on-one in reading when he first started the year. I think he must have jumped two grade levels in reading during the first four months of school due to this attention. The school brings in scientists, takes field trips, and does science experiments every day and our son loves this real-world, hands-on aspect. There is a focus on the why and the how, versus just the what, at Feynman, and this seems like the appropriate approach to take with gifted learners. My sense is that our son has become more used to asking his own questions and seeking his own answers through investigation and independent thought since he has joined the school. For us, this is what it is all about. Needless to say, we would recommend the school to any curious child who loves to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Feynman School is a real find. It is small but special a phrase my daughter is telling me I should use for this review (she is standing by my side, excited to share feedback that should tell you something). Indeed, the best thing this school has done for us is sustain her excitement for learning and experimenting with new stuff. She is now much happier than she was at her previous school (where she was bored), and never complains Monday mornings. Feynman School provides a focused, intimate, fun and challenging learning environment. The teacher-student ratio is far and away better than any other place we have considered. The teachers are wonderful, the Spanish, music and theater in the curriculum is very stimulating, and school is lining up aftercare activities that are quite interesting. The school may not have the fancy infrastructure of other private schools (separate art rooms or computer rooms, large gyms), but it offers what is important: a great teacher-student ratio, devoted and innovative teaching, a focus on creativity, high academic standards, and character building, and a diverse group of peers. (Many students have parents from other countries.) I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

My child really enjoyed this school. They attended other schools prior to the Feynman School and were bored and not happy. I really enjoyed that the school included music, drama and Spanish and am looking forward to their growth in P.E. and technology. This school is a new school, so not every detail is ironed out yet, but the school was a good fit for my child. Personally, the price is high, but all private schools in the area are :O)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

The best decision we ever made! Our daughter is an advanced learner - she started reading when she was 2. We couldn't find a preschool that could accommodate or nurture her skills until we came across The Feynman School. We were somewhat hesitant because the school is about an hour away, but it was the best decision we've ever made. Thanks to the wonderfully dedicated teachers, she has shown more growth in the past 2 years than we could have ever imagined. She has gained a love of reading, science, and the arts among other great things. Feynman has made learning fun for her and has created a thirst for knowledge that she carries in everything she does. She never wants to leave when we pick her up at the end of the day. The parents are great, the teachers are great .Feynman truly is a Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I have seen this school in action! The students are encouraged to excel and given the proper direction they do excel beyond what I could imagine. Give this school a look and be amazed.


Posted June 5, 2012

We were challanged with finding a daycare or school for our 3 years old. She knew the alphabet at the age of 2, put 50-100 piece puzzles together quicker than us, played piano and chess with the old kids - and she was bored in any daycare we took her. Then we found the Feynman School and we LOVE it. My daughter is the youngest in the school, came to the school barely speaking any English. By the end of the school year her English is just as good as her classmates (mostly 5-6 years olds), she started reading & writing already, adds, deducts, multiplies, devideds numbers, knows a lot of science (Earth's water cycle, just to mention one), grew socially, emotionally. The teachers are exceptional, there is no limit on what a kid can learn. One can say that the initial evaluation is unusual at this very early age, but it benefits the child - the best are offered a place; and they can go all the way. I recommend this school without reservations - call them, talk to the director or the teachers. We did and this was the best decision we made benefiting our daughter's intellectual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Five stars no question. I thought about writing about the phenomenal science based curriculum, or the drama program, or talking about how much Spanish my son knows or how sure of himself he is. I thought about raving about the AMAZING teachers and their complete dedication to the mission of the school. ---- But I decided simply to say this school is SO AWESOME and SO PERFECT in the execution of its goal that we have been commuting over an hour each way to get there. It continues to be the ONLY option of its level and we ARE MOVING simply to keep our children in this school. I mean, do I really have to say more than that?!?!?!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Susan Gold
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (301) 365-1277

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$18000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7730 Bradley Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20817
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 365-1212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harbor School
Bethesda, MD


Mater Dei School
Bethesda, MD




The Heights School
Potomac, MD


The Woods Academy
Bethesda, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT