Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 361
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Such a wonderful small neighborhood school! We have had kids enrolled there for 7 years now and it has been great for all of them. There is a new principal who is very energetic and is working hard to make Bannockburn the best school it can be. The PTA is very strong and is super active - there are so many volunteer activities. As a parent you can do as few or as many as you would like. They have a fabulous Math Day that has caught the attention of MCPS and other school are now trying to model it. There is also a fabulous after school clubs program and daycare program. All in all, it is a tight knit, but welcoming, community that is full of great kids and really interesting and well educated parents that want the best for their kids and they realize that they have it right in their neighborhood. It also feeds to Pyle and Whitman - top schools in the state. We love it!

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
We've had some good teachers and one exceptional teacher so far. Most parents are highly educated and very much involved.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Bannockburn is a small elementary school, which results in a very strong sense of community. My children are very happy here and adore their teachers. Principal Walder is responsive and understanding, and has done a great job hiring energetic and effective teachers. Many of the families in the Bannockburn school district have the resources to send their children to the private school of their choice, but very few families opt for private school over Bannockburn, which I think says a lot.

Bannockburn Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
My child couldn't wait to leave Bannockburn. She's very happy at Pyle now. She didn't enjoy that the electives (like chorus) were required and that the turnover in chorus, music and art teachers that brought in people who weren't very good at working with children or thought that art meant just using pencils and paper. She did like her (main) teacher very much, but that teacher left for a position in a middle school.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
The Bannockburn School community is highly educated and academically focused. The small school setting gives it an advantage that most schools do not have. It is a wonderful,safe and nurturing environment.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
My son attended Bannockburn Elementary and is now at Pyle in middle school. This gave me perspective on how amazing this school was. Aside from principal changes and some inexperienced teachers (who imho compensated with tremendous compassion and a sincere desire to serve the kids) this is IMHO the BEST elementary school around since it's also the smallest. The community is unbelievable and I only now realize how incredibly LUCKY we were to have had the real privilege to be a part of it. I (and most importantly my kids and their friends) will cherish the memories!!!

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2010
- a parent
They were really an amazing schol and still are. I realy miss BAnnockburn. My daughter now in 6th grade says this was a amazing oppurtunity and has taught her many things for the feauture.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
The principal and teachers are terrific! They work together to have each child reach their potential. The kids are kind.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
This is a very compettive and challenging school with a high level of academic standards. A fantastic principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bannockburn Elementary School
6520 Dalroy Ln, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 320-6555
Last modified Bannockburn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bannockburn Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top