Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 361

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
We've had some good teachers and one exceptional teacher so far. Most parents are highly educated and very much involved.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Bannockburn is a small elementary school, which results in a very strong sense of community. My children are very happy here and adore their teachers. Principal Walder is responsive and understanding, and has done a great job hiring energetic and effective teachers. Many of the families in the Bannockburn school district have the resources to send their children to the private school of their choice, but very few families opt for private school over Bannockburn, which I think says a lot.


Bannockburn Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
My child couldn't wait to leave Bannockburn. She's very happy at Pyle now. She didn't enjoy that the electives (like chorus) were required and that the turnover in chorus, music and art teachers that brought in people who weren't very good at working with children or thought that art meant just using pencils and paper. She did like her (main) teacher very much, but that teacher left for a position in a middle school.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
The Bannockburn School community is highly educated and academically focused. The small school setting gives it an advantage that most schools do not have. It is a wonderful,safe and nurturing environment.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
My son attended Bannockburn Elementary and is now at Pyle in middle school. This gave me perspective on how amazing this school was. Aside from principal changes and some inexperienced teachers (who imho compensated with tremendous compassion and a sincere desire to serve the kids) this is IMHO the BEST elementary school around since it's also the smallest. The community is unbelievable and I only now realize how incredibly LUCKY we were to have had the real privilege to be a part of it. I (and most importantly my kids and their friends) will cherish the memories!!!


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2010
- a parent
They were really an amazing schol and still are. I realy miss BAnnockburn. My daughter now in 6th grade says this was a amazing oppurtunity and has taught her many things for the feauture.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
We have two kids at BES and absolutely LOVE the school. The class sizes are small - most under 20 kids. The teachers are very responsive - emails or calls are almost always answered the same day if not just an hour after sending. The principal is new but he is terrific. You can tell that he wants to succeed and make BES the best that it can be. Of course, it is a public school so you have to deal with district issues and funding concerns. However, the warm and nurturing environment isn't impacted at all. My kids love going to school everyday and as a parent I couldn't ask for more!

Bannockburn Elementary School 2

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bannockburn Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
The principal and teachers are terrific! They work together to have each child reach their potential. The kids are kind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bannockburn Elementary School
6520 Dalroy Ln, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 320-6555
Last modified Bannockburn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bannockburn Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top