Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burning Tree Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 502 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

I do not understand with the previous reviewer. I have been a parent at Burning Tree for five years and have two children passing through the system. Their teachers have been consistently exceptional. Their work is challenging and stimulating. Yes, there are tests to deal with, but that's an issue with the Board of Education and will be the case at any public school. Arts and Music at this school are also thriving. We'd love more sports but sadly that's not in the curriculum. Parental involvement and the PTA are extraordinary at Burning Tree. I can't imagine a more supportive community. We know several families who have left their private schools and opted instead for Burning Tree and are very happy with their decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

This school disappoints on so many levels. The staff is either "getting ready to retire any day," to quote one or very young and inexperienced. The level of bullying is outrageous and scary. For some reason the administration believes harm only comes from physical bullying, not the psychological games some of the kids play at the expense of other children. As a parent volunteer at recess, I leave each day so sad at what I see. There is also a surprising amount of fraternizing of "moms" with teachers. I'm not against friendly relationships, but being BFFs with your child's teacher is strange and suspect. I look forward to moving to Pyle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

This school disappoints on so many levels. If you want your child to memorize for test scores and not learn you will love it here though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

gr8 school i went to it and the teachers are gr8 and the best part is that the 5th graders of 2012 got 2 correct the washington post!!!


Posted April 18, 2011

This school has become much worse with the new principle but the teacher are amazing and try to really get to know the students. So i still think this school is a good choice for parents


Posted May 31, 2010

It just is a fantastic school and there is nothing else to say! I would never ever sign my children up to any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

Great school. My daughter's teachers have ranged between very good and phenomenal. The work is challenging and yet they seem to do an excellent job of accommodating differing abilities. The parents are very involved and many parents do a lot of volunteering both inside and outside of the classroom. There is a real sense of community and I think that is reflected in how many families get involved with the myriad fundraising activities. As another poster mentioned, this is a very diverse community with children from literally all over the world. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

This school was good before Erdrich became principal. I'm taking my kids out now. Way to driven by test scores then learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I'm a new parent to the school and my daughter is in Kindergarten at Bruning Tree. I have been thoroughly impressed with her teacher and the types of things that she is learning. Even in Kindergarten, they break into smaller groups to work on different projects which allows children of similar abilities to work on activities appropriate for their level and spend time on both academic endeavors (reading, math) and social skils (working through problems, understanding others). Parents frequently volunteer to assist in the classroom with some of the smaller groups. One thing that I did not realize before my daughter started is how internationally diverse the school population is. One of the first school wide activitites was International Night where students and parents from over 40 countries had small tables with information activities, and food related to their country. It was very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

This school spends way too much time attempting to comply with teach to the test rather than educate the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 43%
Asian 17% 6%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 36%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 Beech Tree Rd
Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone: (301) 320-6510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holton-Arms School
Bethesda, MD


Landon School
Bethesda, MD



The Woods Academy
Bethesda, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT