Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Terrific school! Great teachers, good education, all-round child development, diverse...Keep it up Burning Tree Elementary School!

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
I do not understand with the previous reviewer. I have been a parent at Burning Tree for five years and have two children passing through the system. Their teachers have been consistently exceptional. Their work is challenging and stimulating. Yes, there are tests to deal with, but that's an issue with the Board of Education and will be the case at any public school. Arts and Music at this school are also thriving. We'd love more sports but sadly that's not in the curriculum. Parental involvement and the PTA are extraordinary at Burning Tree. I can't imagine a more supportive community. We know several families who have left their private schools and opted instead for Burning Tree and are very happy with their decision.


Burning Tree Elementary School 1

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This school disappoints on so many levels. The staff is either "getting ready to retire any day," to quote one or very young and inexperienced. The level of bullying is outrageous and scary. For some reason the administration believes harm only comes from physical bullying, not the psychological games some of the kids play at the expense of other children. As a parent volunteer at recess, I leave each day so sad at what I see. There is also a surprising amount of fraternizing of "moms" with teachers. I'm not against friendly relationships, but being BFFs with your child's teacher is strange and suspect. I look forward to moving to Pyle.

Burning Tree Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
This school disappoints on so many levels. If you want your child to memorize for test scores and not learn you will love it here though.

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
gr8 school i went to it and the teachers are gr8 and the best part is that the 5th graders of 2012 got 2 correct the washington post!!!


Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
This school has become much worse with the new principle but the teacher are amazing and try to really get to know the students. So i still think this school is a good choice for parents

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2010
- a parent
It just is a fantastic school and there is nothing else to say! I would never ever sign my children up to any other school!

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school. My daughter's teachers have ranged between very good and phenomenal. The work is challenging and yet they seem to do an excellent job of accommodating differing abilities. The parents are very involved and many parents do a lot of volunteering both inside and outside of the classroom. There is a real sense of community and I think that is reflected in how many families get involved with the myriad fundraising activities. As another poster mentioned, this is a very diverse community with children from literally all over the world. Highly recommend.


Burning Tree Elementary School 1

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
This school was good before Erdrich became principal. I'm taking my kids out now. Way to driven by test scores then learning.

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
I'm a new parent to the school and my daughter is in Kindergarten at Bruning Tree. I have been thoroughly impressed with her teacher and the types of things that she is learning. Even in Kindergarten, they break into smaller groups to work on different projects which allows children of similar abilities to work on activities appropriate for their level and spend time on both academic endeavors (reading, math) and social skils (working through problems, understanding others). Parents frequently volunteer to assist in the classroom with some of the smaller groups. One thing that I did not realize before my daughter started is how internationally diverse the school population is. One of the first school wide activitites was International Night where students and parents from over 40 countries had small tables with information activities, and food related to their country. It was very impressive.

Nearby schools

Burning Tree Elementary School
7900 Beech Tree Rd, Bethesda, MD  20817
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (301) 320-6510
Last modified Burning Tree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top