Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 497

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Terrific school! Great teachers, good education, all-round child development, diverse...Keep it up Burning Tree Elementary School!

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
I do not understand with the previous reviewer. I have been a parent at Burning Tree for five years and have two children passing through the system. Their teachers have been consistently exceptional. Their work is challenging and stimulating. Yes, there are tests to deal with, but that's an issue with the Board of Education and will be the case at any public school. Arts and Music at this school are also thriving. We'd love more sports but sadly that's not in the curriculum. Parental involvement and the PTA are extraordinary at Burning Tree. I can't imagine a more supportive community. We know several families who have left their private schools and opted instead for Burning Tree and are very happy with their decision.


Burning Tree Elementary School 1

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This school disappoints on so many levels. The staff is either "getting ready to retire any day," to quote one or very young and inexperienced. The level of bullying is outrageous and scary. For some reason the administration believes harm only comes from physical bullying, not the psychological games some of the kids play at the expense of other children. As a parent volunteer at recess, I leave each day so sad at what I see. There is also a surprising amount of fraternizing of "moms" with teachers. I'm not against friendly relationships, but being BFFs with your child's teacher is strange and suspect. I look forward to moving to Pyle.

Burning Tree Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
This school disappoints on so many levels. If you want your child to memorize for test scores and not learn you will love it here though.

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
gr8 school i went to it and the teachers are gr8 and the best part is that the 5th graders of 2012 got 2 correct the washington post!!!


Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
This school has become much worse with the new principle but the teacher are amazing and try to really get to know the students. So i still think this school is a good choice for parents

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2010
- a parent
It just is a fantastic school and there is nothing else to say! I would never ever sign my children up to any other school!

Burning Tree Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school. My daughter's teachers have ranged between very good and phenomenal. The work is challenging and yet they seem to do an excellent job of accommodating differing abilities. The parents are very involved and many parents do a lot of volunteering both inside and outside of the classroom. There is a real sense of community and I think that is reflected in how many families get involved with the myriad fundraising activities. As another poster mentioned, this is a very diverse community with children from literally all over the world. Highly recommend.


Burning Tree Elementary School 1

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
This school was good before Erdrich became principal. I'm taking my kids out now. Way to driven by test scores then learning.

Burning Tree Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burning Tree Elementary School
7900 Beech Tree Rd, Bethesda, MD  20817
(301) 320-6510
Last modified Burning Tree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burning Tree Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top