Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Weller Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

The school building was brand new for the 2013-14 school year - wonderful facilities, and a safe school. The principal and staff are helpful, effective, and responsive. The test scores for this school have to be taken with a grain of salt - in most of the households in this neighborhood, english is a second language. There's a strong community outreach, though, and parent participation the likes of which you probably can't find anywhere else. The school regularly hosts activities and seminars for parents to encourage learning outside the classroom - always very well attended. You can certainly find some unevenness in the quality of the faculty, but overall, we've been pleased. Students are often grouped according to ability for a portion of the school week, so the teachers aren't always teaching to the struggling students. This school (as all MoCo schools) uses Curriculum 2.0. We think this approach to teaching and evaluation has it's flaws - and we'd rather see a more traditional approach applied in the early years - but the emphasis on reading and math is still central, and the teachers are dedicated to making it work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

They always put students first and are all extremely committed! Learning is clearly their number one priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

For my overall experience, I'll have to say Weller Road E.S. is a school you would want to send your children to. I have two boys that are attending and they love going to school whenever I would have a problem of any matter that would be affecting there concentration I would call the office and they would help me out with what my concerns and what action would be taken in . When we moved and we told our sons that they would no longer be attending Weller road they felt out of place sad and depress at the new school towards also the whole waitmg period until we decide that they had to be return to where they felt like home secure and safe and full of joy and happiness ! Now my third son is excited bc he might attend next school year . Also they have workshops for parents which is good and if you don't know English which helps us as a parent understand our kids and help them with their homework assignment which is what any parent would want. "Congrats Weller road for an outstanding school an a new school for any parent to send there child/ children too!!!!! No complaints about the staff or anyone else !!!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

The administration is abusive to staff, which makes for an extremely high staff turnover rate. Few teachers are there longer than the required 2 years, and several quit mid-year. It is unfortunate because the kids are great...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2012

Horrible school! My daughter went here for Kindergarten last year, and hated school. The teachers seem fine, but overall, there is a very stressful feeling at this school, and it seems that they only care about reading levels. My daughter reads at a very age-appropriate level, and she used to love reading, but she came home sometimes, crying about not being able to read better. Now she doesn't even want to read! So sad that Kindergarteners are not enjoying learning. Will it be a downward slope from here on for these poor children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

yes, teachers are great but the administration is very negative and critical. They complained about my dressing and told other people in the office, a parent told me... what a terrible place. Stay away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

Just moving here from New York, I was anxious about my daughter adjusting to her new first grade class. Well, I have to say, she and I are glad she is attending Weller! She has advanced so much since attending and is now (still in 1st) reading above grade level, on the cheerleading team and about to take part in the drama club! The principal is kind, concerned and very approachable! The teachers are easy to talk to and respond to your concerns via letters, phone calls and/or conferences! The children, I feel recieve quality education and have a variety of activities to engage in- the Math Olympics being one of my daughter's favorites! Keep up the good work Weller!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

Weller is a wonderful school. Many children there are very smart. Highly educated children. Makes school kind of fun so they don't get easily distracted. Lots af equiptment ready for those who need. Phinics is highly maintained in the school. Weller is the best school anyone can go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2004

The teachers and other students try their best. The building is old but everyone makes the best of it. I feel safe and welcome at Weller. Thanks for teaching me!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 15, 2003

Curriculum seem solely test driven. Reading is taught primarily from sight word lists and involves rote memorization. Little or no phonics. Low expectations for math goals. Lacks basic 'modern' school equipment. School grounds need updating. Basic core curriculum. Not impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Black 11% 35%
White 4% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 Weller Rd
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 929-2010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Highland Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD


New Life Academy
Silver Spring, MD


St Catherine Laboure School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT