Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 1,159
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westland Middle School 4

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
This school delivers a good product considering the problems associated with drawing children from completely different socio-economic backgrounds, overcrowding and too many standardized tests and then expecting it to work out fine. The language used is abhorrent. the teachers lack control and as a new student last week said. 'I love it, it is just one big party!' She came from Stone Ridge. So if you're stuck with using public school, it's fairly safe, there are honors courses to take and some excellent teachers. Parents need to keep nose to the grindstone in paying attention to Edline. Otherwise mistakes happen in grading due to the huge number of students and crazy testing required. My child loves this school and as I said it has some fabulous teachers. But my impression is, it is a load of fun.

Westland Middle School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My son has been deeply hurt emotionally by this school, and of course physically attacked by a regular bully, whom the school always protects for unknown reasons. My son is an A student in every way, and always tries his best to please the teachers. But the principal, some staff and some teachers at Westland are not professionally trained, even dishonest at times, they often hurt the kids, rather than helping them. MCPS needs to do something to investigate this school!


Westland Middle School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
A racist school, the school covers up bullying, does not protect the kids. MCPS really is out of control of its schools!

Westland Middle School 2

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter kept on getting hurt emotionally and physically. No matter what the counselors and principal did to help she just kept on getting hurt

Westland Middle School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a community member
There was a time when Westland Middle School was worthy of being the feeder to Bethesda Chevy Chase HS---the jewel of the cluster. But those days are long gone. Westland is now bursting at the seams and comports itself like an over-crowded school. Kids are not just lost-in the shuffle----they are buried. There is no time for teachers or administrators to care about students: teaching is done for test scores, and not to educate. Teachers and staff offer no support, mentorship, motivation, or leadership. If you want your child to get an OK education in a huge, impersonal, uncaring, and disengaged environment, then Westland might be for you.


Westland Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Westland is great. Sure there are some annoying kids and bad teachers, like at any school but there are lots of really great teacehers everyone has a respect for one another it's diverse, unlike Pyle thats all rich white kids and everyone at Westland seems to be relatively content you should definitely send your child here.

Westland Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
This is one of the best public middle schools in Montgomery County and I am honored that both of my sons attended.

Westland Middle School 4

Posted February 06, 2008
- a student
School has a great program. School has a very safe feeling. Few bad teachers.


Westland Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2005
- a teacher
A great school that provides a rigorous academic program, global awareness, and a great staff.

Westland Middle School 2

Posted March 03, 2005
- a student
I attented Westland Middle School for the 2003-2004 school year, and quite frankly, it was the worst year of school I have had. I was only a sixith grader, but was ALWAYS being harassed by many kids for no reason. If they don't like me, that's fine, but when I went to talk to the consouler office almost on a daily bases, there is a problem. I now attend Pyle Middle School, and think that it is over all much better. Parents may have different views than I do, but i experienced this first hand. I think the school should have stepped in, to keep me feeling safe. There were times where I didn't feel safe and the school did nothing. But if you are considering sending your child to Westland, think about how you feel, having your child come home and start crying or be upset becasue they were harassed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westland Middle School
5511 Massachusetts Ave, Bethesda, MD  20816
(301) 320-6515
Last modified Westland Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westland Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top