Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Bethesda, MD
Students enrolled: 739

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
We just completed third year at Wood Acres. Our proud soon to be 3rd grader has done extremely well with support of each one of her teachers. Her reading level is far above the average, her math skills also exceed state averages. As a parent I found that to be the ultimate quality of the teachers and management of Wood Acres. Communication with teachers and the principal has been very effective. A number of fun and educational events organized by the PTA throughout the year are always well organized and attended. The building is beautiful and spatious and outdoor space for kids to enjoy during recess is huge. The school is an integral part of our neighborhood and we as parents, as well as our daughter are very happy in Wood Acres.

Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding community support. Highly unique in-house planetarium, with full curriculum built around it. Excellent leadership, and caring teachers.


Wood Acres Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Don't believe the reviews. This school is awful. Teachers are hit or miss, and the principal is not engaged. I didn't realize how awful this school was until I moved out of state and my kids started attending a *truly* great school where the teachers and administrators encourage children to attend after-school events (unlike Wood Acres, where student attendance is prohibited). The only reason for the great reviews here is because the property values in this neighborhood are tied to the myth that this school is great. If you're considering moving into this neighborhood for the quality of the school, be forewarned.

Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Wood Acres Elementary School is fabulous. The community of kids, teachers, and parents is wonderful. I cannot conceive of a better place to start my child's educaton.

Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
WA is a great school with terrific facilities and an active parent-teacher-student community. Set in a quiet neighborhood, every morning you can see parents walking their kids to school through the neighborhood, greeting fellow students and parents along the way. Every good school in this area has to manage with some level of oversubscription (likely because the better the school, the more people flock to that cluster to send their kids there). WA is no exception, but that doesn't change our view that it's truly a great school and a big part of the reason we chose to be in this district.


Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is one of the most exceptional elementary schools in the state. There's always a reason a school is overcrowded, in this case it's because so many people want their kids to go there. The addition being added later this year will alleviate the issue.

Wood Acres Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
Woodacres Elementary school is an excellent school with capable and helping teachers and a strong and sincere principal Mrs Sharban. This school has a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The new students never feel as this is there first week or first month. The teachers know how to help there students and get the best out of them . The way kids participate in every project in the class or in the community is remarkable. I am amazed why it has a rating of 8 from great school , according to me it is the best school of the Montgomery County.

Wood Acres Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
Wood Acres' teachers are terrific, and it is a generally happy place for kids. But I agree with the other reviewer who said kids get almost no supervision at recess, and the administration is disengaged about this problem.


Wood Acres Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
The school has great facilities and very involved parents, but is lacking on a many many qualities that matter for a grade school. Teachers are overwhelmed with large class sizes and have no additional support to cater to any above average bright children. Facilities are nice, but kids are left alone to find their way, including NO supervision at recess or lunch unless there are parent volunteers. School administration appears completely disengaged. Big disappointment.

Wood Acres Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
i love the kids and the staff at wood acres~

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wood Acres Elementary School
5800 Cromwell Dr, Bethesda, MD  20816
(301) 320-6502
Last modified Wood Acres Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wood Acres Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top