Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Bladensburg, MD
Students enrolled: 1,832
 

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Bladensburg High School 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a student
Teachers are very lazy.. Almost everyday there is a substitute teacher. Substitute teacher doesn't know anything therefore we just sit and look play around with our smart phones.. Students are always fighting .. Students assault other students.. Blade burg staff don't care

Bladensburg High School 3

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
Bladensburg is not the best school- compared to the other schools in the area it really fall flat in comparison. However, as a student that graduated last year, I can say that despite it's many flaws, there is something good about it. The staff does care. True there are a few that don't care about their students or just ignore them, however, as my AP World History teacher told me once, compared to one of the more prestigious schools, the teachers at Blade care much more to improve their students. Blade isn't as funded as other schools, and it's a bit lacking, but the teachers that work with the students are very very helpful and are excellent guides. If your child attends, be watchful. Despite another's reviewer, my little brother was attacked by a gang and fights are not rare on campus. It isn't in the best area, but as long as they're careful nothing should happen. The biomedical program is very difficult, but if your child decides to go into it, all of the biomed teachers are excellent help.


Bladensburg High School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is a great school for your kid to go to, there are a lot of school activities. Some parents just say stuff to scare other parents off from letting your kid from going there. But there are not alot of gangs or fights at this school. My kid loves this school and they would rather go to this school than any other school. The teachers are great and care about how the kids do and the principal is good also. As other people say that there is alot of drugs in this school its not more than any other public school in pg county and it is a great opportunity for your kid to go to this school it will teach them how to get along with other kids and how do start there life as an adult. i would recommend this school to any parent for there child. and every year the school is getting better in every way. Thank You for reading

Bladensburg High School 4

Posted May 29, 2009
- a student
This school has had a great improvement since the installment of the new principal Mrs. Jordan. Students are always in compliance with the uniform policy & it has become a great school where Excellence is a deliberant practice. Although personally i think the school was more fun the first year it reopened in 2005 with then principal Ms. Blanding, But it is a great school with a variety of different programs and academics!!

Bladensburg High School 3

Posted August 07, 2007
- a student
There were many good teachers: Ms. Klapper, Ms. Modrak, Ms. Reynolds, Ms. Simpson were the best. They really knew their subjects and were organized. They know how to teach. I had several principals while there. Attended the Old Blade, before it was rebuilt.


Bladensburg High School 1

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
My son went to this school and it is in the new building. That's all that's new. I pulled my son out after only 4 months because of all the racial problems. Gangs have marked up the building already. The teachers really don't care. My son skipped school for two of the four months he was there and I never got a phone call from one teacher. Students walk out when ever they want. Avoid this school if you can. Home teaching is better then this place!

Bladensburg High School 5

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
This school has alot of students in it, however the students are provided with the education they need.

Bladensburg High School 3

Posted October 25, 2004
- a student
school to crowed need more activities for academics! excellent teachers and waiting patiently for their new school building.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bladensburg High School
4200 57th Ave, Bladensburg, MD  20710
(301) 887-6700
Last modified Bladensburg High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bladensburg High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top