Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boonsboro Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

Test scores are not everything! If your child is in the magnet program you may love this school, but the school is divided. The Magnet children have been taught and treated better than the other students. The Magnet classes are given the option of smaller class sizes while the other students are in more crowded classes. It has created a terrible culture at the school and an elitist environment. While construction of new homes continues in the area expect the classes to get more crowded as they continue to allow children from outside of BES district to attend the Magnet program. Look elsewhere if you want a quality education...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

I was a student at Boonsboro Elementary and I'm going into 6th grade and I seemed to notice a lot of drama and issues in the past couple of years such as leaving kids out and gossip. I think the teachers could watch that a little better but other than that I love that school.


Posted April 9, 2012

Love this school! The teachers are very dedicated and caring. My child is geting good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My son has Autism and Boonsboro Elementary works very hard to help my son get a fantastic education and adjust to the routine of going to school. Great staff and extremely helpful, always working to help students succeed not only acedemically but socially as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The staff are working with my son, who has disabilities. They are caring and friendly and take a genuine interest in all of the children. They are a magnet school and give the kids a great education. It's a real small town school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

Mr. Woods is an exceptional principal.....My son considers him a role model, and I have had nothing but positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I love this school! The teachers are wonderful, really care about your kids and the adminstration is also very good. It is very family orienated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

I believe this school is top. One of the best schools in the state. The teachers are the best and they truly care for their students. The staff is also great. I couldn't ask for a better place to send my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

Wonderful school. Staff makes students and parents feel welcome. Teachers are very dedicated to their field and it shows in the quality of assignments that they create for their students. Parents are VERY involved in the school, and the staff welcome any parent willing to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
Black 4% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5 Campus Ave
Boonsboro, MD 21713
Phone: (301) 766-8013

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lucy School
Middletown, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT