Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bowie High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
My child rarely seems to have any homework and could care less about grades, but is continually passed on to the next grade.

Bowie High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
The school bureaucracy shows little if any compassion, caring or empathy. The negative environment reinforces negative biases and stereotypes.


Bowie High School 4

Posted January 24, 2015
- a student
If you are nervous about sending you r child to Bowie here's everything you need to know. Urge your child to try for the SUMMIT program, this is program gives your child higher classes from the very first day of 9th grade. Also there are at the max 65 kids in the program for your grade. These are the kids that your child will be around for the next 4 years. To get into the program you have to have at-least a 3.0 all throughout their 7th grade year and the 1st quarter of their 8th year, with no behavior problems. If they don't make SUMMIT then try to get them into honors classes.But make sure that they are involved in extracurricular activities, they definitely help seperate the people that you should steer away from and the people you should start getting close to and be around with. This will keep your child out of trouble AND have good high school years . ~CLASS OF 2015 WE OUT!!!!!!!!!!

Bowie High School 5

Posted November 29, 2014
- a parent
excellent teachers, cooperative administration, great resources for parents to participate and contributing to the school.

Bowie High School 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
The Honors and AP classes are great and most of those students work hard. I have heard that it is different in many of the regular classes.


Bowie High School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
its alright unorganized at times and underfunded but its still alright, could do better with the math teachers and their inability to speak fluent english; A lot of the other reviews are bad and bashing the teachers but its not completely their fault, We still have the highest test scores in the county so to call us stupid is asinine -current bowie high student class of 2015

Bowie High School 1

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is not up to par academically. I have met with counselors and administrators about disruptive behavior during my child's class. In September 2013 I repeatedly made them aware of my concerns because I am a parent who truly cares about my child's education. As of April 2014 nothing has improved. The teachers do not give students feedback. They fail to give tests or homework back to the students in order to allow them an opportunity to improve and enhance their performance. Teachers spend more of their time out of the classroom instead of teaching the class and insuring those students that want to learn actually can. Seriously the teachers need to stop getting paid to do nothing and get some teachers who really care about educating our children.

Bowie High School 1

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
From the first day of registration, my experience with this school has been poor. The students are out of control. They don't listen to the teachers. The staff is unprofessional. Everything that the school secretary, Mrs. Lee told us was false. As far as their "No Bullying policy", that's a joke. There are fights there almost daily according to my child. I would definitely consider another school if you're able. I wish I had looked at the reviews before I enrolled my child, which took almost 2 weeks because they would not accept my proofs of residency. I've never had such a traumatic experience with a school. It's an awful school. This is my opinion, and I am very much into my child's education. I am sure some others may not agree, but this is my honest opinion from what I've experienced at Bowie High School. Also if you saw other reviews on this school, you would definitely see that there is definitely a cause for concern at this High School.


Bowie High School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
I was a former 2011 graduate, this school is beyond terrible, Even though I'm in college, I felt like I learned nothing. I feel like the teachers do not have discipline so of course the students Will not have any. I honestly feel like the majority of the teachers there are only there for the paychecks. Not the importance of teaching, not importance I students learning everyday. I felt like they didn't try hard enough to prepare students for the next level education. While in 11th grade, one of my worst years there, I discovered not only did the school care about teaching, they don't care about getting permanent teachers. For example, my English 11 never had a permanent teacher. The first week of school our teacher was a HSA coordinator. After a couple months she left, then we had a substitute for a couple months. Then about the February we finally received a certified teacher. In my 10th grade year, Spanish was the same runaround with the teachers. First there was a real teacher but our class was so bad that we ran her out of town, our second teacher was a substitute, but he left because he wasn't permanent, 3rd teacher was another sub. Don't go to this awful school!

Bowie High School 1

Posted December 01, 2013
- a community member
I'm a student and this school is awful. These teachers do not know how to teach, all my classes is basically like free time. There is nothing great about this school. Do not recommend . I am definatley not prepared for college next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowie High School
15200 Annapolis Rd, Bowie, MD  20715
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (301) 805-2600
Last modified Bowie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top