Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tulip Grove Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 307 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

We have had a good overall experience with Tulip Grove so far. It will be interesting with the move to Meadowbrook to see how this year goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

The previous reviewer who described the environment of yelling and demeaning behavior by the teachers is spot on. I found the overall environment to be a safe one for my child. But I found the quality of the education to be lacking. So disappointing! There are teachers who yell at students and talk to them in a disrespectful fashion. Too many of them are dismissive of parental concerns regarding their children's progress. They care only about the straight A or TAG students because they make the school look good. Overbearing PTA parents who look out only for their own children's interests have been allowed free range. Too much cliquish and elitist behavior exists at this school. The truly good teachers there are overshadowed by the ones who need to move on. Hopefully the new principal can improve the atmosphere there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

This school does not offer Pre-K. Otherwise, it is a very nice school and located in a nice area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

We love Tulip Grove! The teachers and, parents work together for the children. The school is bright and cheerful with smiles all around. Every morning the principal greets every child by name and gives them a high five. My child is excited about going to school every day! This school is everything any parent would want for their child! We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

All that Glitters is not Gold! Bullying by staff and students is off the hook. Go to the cafeteria, or walk down the halls and just listen; you'll get an earful of demeaning words, even screaming at the top of their lungs to get their students to comply. More like a military academy than a school. All for a great bonu$$ payout for the staff, when the test scores come in. Very unfortunate because not all the teachers are bully's. Need to just mention the PE teacher is a saint !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

We are very pleased with the education our children are receiving at Tulip Grove and with the positive environment in which it's being delivered. The principal, who greets the children with excitement every morning, rewards both peaceful behavior and academic achievement. The teachers are dedicated and care about the success of their students. Unlike many schools, they have an open-door policy and welcome parental involvement. Despite budget cuts, they've continued to provide consistent, quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

This school's reputation is highly exaggerated. This reality has only become more apparent. My biggest concern with this school is the lack of true leadership. The principal is a narcissist. He does NOT have the students OR staff's best interests in mind. He is absent from day to day activities and clueless. As tax payers, we should not be wasting our money on their paychecks, we should be investing that precious money on OUR TEACHERS. This county has been very proactive in encouraging teachers to pursue National Board Certification. However, the county is not honoring their end of the deal. Teachers must invest a lot of blood, sweat and tears, all for the benefit of this county, yet they are now crying broke unlike Google, where they VALUE their employees, treat them with respect. SHAMEFUL! Please let me clarify, when my eldest son went through this school there was an AMAZING administrational team. Dr. David Scuccimarra and Mr. Ronald Creek were exceptional leaders that were always present. They made a great team and truly supported their staff the way we as parents expect. True professionals! Sorry to have seen them move on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

This is a great school in a wonderful community. The teachers and principal do a wonderful job guiding the children. We had the opportunity to put my daughter into a TAG magnet school, but we like it so much at Tulip Grove that we have decided to keep her there. The PTA is very active and there are many opportunities for parents to be involved in their child's school experience. I feel extremely lucky to live in the Tulip Grove boundary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Tulip Grove is a fantastic elementary school. Outstanding teachers and lots of parent involvement have fostered a wonderful learning environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Tulip Grove is an OUTSTANDING elementary school. The educational rigor and excellent staff makes this school one of a kind. The Principal is an inspiration to academic success for all the students!! I am a very proud and thankful parent to have my daughter in attendance. Parent/Teacher in PG Co.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

This school is wonderful. Everyone really seems to care about my child while he is at the school. My son had Mrs. Nay as his Kindergarten Teacher and she was great! He is excited to start First Grade very shortly and I hope that our experience this year is as wonderful as it was last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Duaghter has had nothing but great experiences here !!! Has been a geat school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

All three of my are going, or have gone to Tulip Grove. It has been a wonderful experience for my kids and for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This is a VERY GOOD School. My daughter is in 1st grade and Mrs. Lipford is a very good teacher. She does a lot of one on one's to help the kids out more. Principal (Brian) does a very good job and is wonderful hanging out and talking to the kids. I think that the PTA should have more activities during the school year and let different/new parents help as well. The after care program is OK. I daughter was in the after care program and really did not like it, so I took her out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

This is great, wonderful school. The staff is nice and great to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

Great school, but be prepared for a lot of home work starting in 3rd grade. Be prepared to work with your kids on how to do homework and prep for the MSA. It's great living near such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

One of the best in Bowie. One of the highest test scores MSA in Reading and Math for the county. They offer an Art awareness program and music (instrumental instruction offered 4th and 5th grade) Wonderful parent invovlement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Tulip Grove is a wonderful school, my son's first grade teacher was the best! Ms. Hawes was so encouraging and helpful. She worked with the students and the parents in any capacity to ensure success. She did a wonderful job. I wish she could stay with my son throughout the elementary school years. The principal and vic-principal were always available and the staff and other teachers always pleasant and working together. The PTA is strong and the students are learning, happy and enjoying school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

My son's in kindergarten. His teacher, Ms. Kress, is top-notch: She keeps the kids engaged and she seems to enjoy her job. The faculty pulls together as a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

the quality of academic programs is very low there are after school activities but there is no way my child can participate because she would have to be picked up by 4:00 pm. Not even the President of the United States gets off at 4pm. A lot of children miss out because there is no money for buses but everything else is being funded. A childs education should come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 35%
White 36% 42%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (301) 805-6689

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2909 Trainor Ln
Bowie, MD 20715
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 805-2680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT