Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bowie, MD
Students enrolled: 307
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tulip Grove Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We have had a good overall experience with Tulip Grove so far. It will be interesting with the move to Meadowbrook to see how this year goes.

Tulip Grove Elementary School 2

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
The previous reviewer who described the environment of yelling and demeaning behavior by the teachers is spot on. I found the overall environment to be a safe one for my child. But I found the quality of the education to be lacking. So disappointing! There are teachers who yell at students and talk to them in a disrespectful fashion. Too many of them are dismissive of parental concerns regarding their children's progress. They care only about the straight A or TAG students because they make the school look good. Overbearing PTA parents who look out only for their own children's interests have been allowed free range. Too much cliquish and elitist behavior exists at this school. The truly good teachers there are overshadowed by the ones who need to move on. Hopefully the new principal can improve the atmosphere there.


Tulip Grove Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
This school does not offer Pre-K. Otherwise, it is a very nice school and located in a nice area.

Tulip Grove Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
We love Tulip Grove! The teachers and, parents work together for the children. The school is bright and cheerful with smiles all around. Every morning the principal greets every child by name and gives them a high five. My child is excited about going to school every day! This school is everything any parent would want for their child! We love our school!

Tulip Grove Elementary School 1

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
All that Glitters is not Gold! Bullying by staff and students is off the hook. Go to the cafeteria, or walk down the halls and just listen; you'll get an earful of demeaning words, even screaming at the top of their lungs to get their students to comply. More like a military academy than a school. All for a great bonu$$ payout for the staff, when the test scores come in. Very unfortunate because not all the teachers are bully's. Need to just mention the PE teacher is a saint !


Tulip Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
We are very pleased with the education our children are receiving at Tulip Grove and with the positive environment in which it's being delivered. The principal, who greets the children with excitement every morning, rewards both peaceful behavior and academic achievement. The teachers are dedicated and care about the success of their students. Unlike many schools, they have an open-door policy and welcome parental involvement. Despite budget cuts, they've continued to provide consistent, quality education.

Tulip Grove Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2012
- a parent
This school's reputation is highly exaggerated. This reality has only become more apparent. My biggest concern with this school is the lack of true leadership. The principal is a narcissist. He does NOT have the students OR staff's best interests in mind. He is absent from day to day activities and clueless. As tax payers, we should not be wasting our money on their paychecks, we should be investing that precious money on OUR TEACHERS. This county has been very proactive in encouraging teachers to pursue National Board Certification. However, the county is not honoring their end of the deal. Teachers must invest a lot of blood, sweat and tears, all for the benefit of this county, yet they are now crying broke unlike Google, where they VALUE their employees, treat them with respect. SHAMEFUL! Please let me clarify, when my eldest son went through this school there was an AMAZING administrational team. Dr. David Scuccimarra and Mr. Ronald Creek were exceptional leaders that were always present. They made a great team and truly supported their staff the way we as parents expect. True professionals! Sorry to have seen them move on!

Tulip Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school in a wonderful community. The teachers and principal do a wonderful job guiding the children. We had the opportunity to put my daughter into a TAG magnet school, but we like it so much at Tulip Grove that we have decided to keep her there. The PTA is very active and there are many opportunities for parents to be involved in their child's school experience. I feel extremely lucky to live in the Tulip Grove boundary.


Tulip Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
Tulip Grove is a fantastic elementary school. Outstanding teachers and lots of parent involvement have fostered a wonderful learning environment for our children.

Tulip Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
Tulip Grove is an OUTSTANDING elementary school. The educational rigor and excellent staff makes this school one of a kind. The Principal is an inspiration to academic success for all the students!! I am a very proud and thankful parent to have my daughter in attendance. Parent/Teacher in PG Co.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tulip Grove Elementary School
2909 Trainor Ln, Bowie, MD  20715
(301) 805-2680
Last modified Tulip Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tulip Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top