Advertisement
Advertisement

Patuxent Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 66 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bowie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $342,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2011

Our daughter graduated (6th grade) from the Patuxent Montessori School and received an excellent education. As a result of our experience at this school, I would highly recommend this Montessori School to anyone who is interested in having their children experience the best Montessori School in this area. The administration and staff are all AMI trained and adhere to the Montessori principles set forth by Dr. Maria Montessori. The warm and friendly atmosphere at Patuxent Montessori School was very nurturing to both our child and us. We will be forever grateful to this school to have received this educational experience for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This school is small. The staff is very professional and take great pride in giving your child the best education possible. They follow the montessori program very closely. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I highly recommend this school!! I have visted numerous schools and this one was very impressive and highly maintained. The atmosphere was conducive to learning, very clean and well maintained. The children seemed to really enjoy the learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Both of our children attended Montessori schools, and this was by far the best! Not only were the academic standards high, but the expectations for parent cooperation and support on the home front was there as well. All parents have equal access to their child's teacher, and the communication lines are always open. This school has a loving & supportive community approach with a staff that is dedicated to helping parents become better parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is a very good school in terms of its education, however beware - there are many conflicts of interests in how it is run. The founder is also president of the board of directors is also the elementary directress. Her husband runs the school with her and her daughter and daughter in law are the other two teachers. Should you have any issues with the school, understand that there is no recourse. Checks and balances do not exist as it is run more like a dictatorship. The founder has incredibly strong view points and that she will not take well if you challenge them. Approach this school with much caution. If you want an excellent education, but don't mind being controlled in every way, shape, or form.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

My two sons attended Patuxent Montessori in Bowie, Maryland (son#1-2001-05; son#2-2003-2007.) Academic standards are very high; children spend six hours in 'time on task'. It is a pure Montessori school, expecting cooperative learning among students and long attention to 'work'. There are 100 students ranging from 2-14 years (pre-school through 6th grade). The headmistress/proprietor is extremely serious about the moral climate of the school, and is a gifted teacher in math and history. While there have been many skilled and devoted teachers, there is high turnover of teachers. Perhaps typical of smallish private school. Parents sometimes feel denied real participation in what their child is learning- a regrettable Montessori tendency. The business side is well run by the husband of the headmistress. The costs are on the low side for a private school in the D.C. area. All in all, this is an excellent school, and my two sons thrived and benefited
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

This school is very small and 'family-like' and offers a wonderful Montessori cirriculum. The classroom are spacious, well-equiped and very clean and orderly. They are ,however, difficult to get into because they are very small and do not have many openeing each year. They also strictly adhere to the Montessori principles so parents should be informed about Montessori education if persuing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Their rule is that your child must have already been in a montessori setting by age 3. This is very limiting! I've heard of exclusive but this is rediculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 40%
White 27% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14210 Old Stage Road
Bowie, MD 20720
Phone: (301) 464-4506

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT